Poets logo

Burning the Seeds of Karma

By David MuñozPublished 17 days ago Updated 15 days ago 1 min read
Like
Burning the Seeds of Karma
Photo by Max Saeling on Unsplash

It’s a mishmash of feelings for me, this healing business.

The feeling is the core of it, I understand that.

*

What the protector parts in me created to keep a

little boy safe from the thickness of an unrelenting tension,

*

the constant threat of implied violence, the ozone smell

of static electricity awaiting a spark, just dying to erupt

*

into a firestorm of rage and fear and vented pain from

another’s childhood, another’s imposed trauma

*

splashing up on me. I’m peeling those layers back,

one by one, on the page and at the meditation table,

*

and with every revelation, more to unravel. But that’s

the healing path in this lifetime, right? Stay where your

*

feet are, be in the moment, contemplate the

reality of impermanence. Breathe in. Breathe out.

*

This is how holy men and an old Roman emperor

teach me

to burn the seeds of karma.

Free Verse
Like

About the Creator

David Muñoz

I'm a recovering artist in Austin, Texas. Stoic student, mystic, writer, poet, guitarist, father, brother, son, friend. I am an eternal soul living a human experience. Part of that experience is working through my stuff by making art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.