Poets logo

When I Come Back

By David MuñozPublished 15 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
1
When I Come Back
Photo by Scott Osborn on Unsplash

When I come back,

maybe I’ll be a pine tree in your backyard,

*

so I can process everything I’ve learned

in this lifetime.

*

I’ll live for a hundred years, dropping

a pinecone for each lesson I picked up along the way.

*

When I come back,

maybe I’ll be a rescue dog

*

that catches your eye

at the shelter, compelling you to take me home.

*

Then I can show you the

love you deserve, teach you

*

you’re worthy, teach you about grace.

Teach you about loss.

*

When I come back,

(and I WILL come back)

*

I’ll find you in your star’s light,

appear to you in the shine of the moon,

*

live in your tender heart,

so we can be together again.

Free Verse
1

About the Creator

David Muñoz

I'm a recovering artist in Austin, Texas. Stoic student, mystic, writer, poet, guitarist, father, brother, son, friend. I am an eternal soul living a human experience. Part of that experience is working through my stuff by making art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    This is so beautiful and loving.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.