Poets logo

Her Epitaph

A love unafraid of sacrifice

By Charming_Menace Published 16 days ago 2 min read
3
Her Epitaph
Photo by Mark Tegethoff on Unsplash

I can’t touch the hands of dead bodies ..

As an empath, I feel the depths of their empty.

Like looking down a dark tunnel, knowing there’s an end but not knowing if the end fell to the oceans floor or pulled us into the center of the universe frightened me..

I can’t touch the hands of dead bodies..

But I clung to yours in hopes that my life/light/voice would reveal the end of the tunnel for you..

So you wouldn’t be afraid..

May my tears serve as ripples in the oceans waves, guiding the light of the moon to its bottom so you wouldn’t be afraid of its darkness..

May they shine like the stars in the universe while carrying a light only you could see so maybe..

They’d lead you back to me..

I can’t touch the hands of dead bodies..

But I clung to yours..

I offered death my last breath and she told me that I wasn’t ready for her just yet..

I challenged her words..

You see your absence put a pause in my heart and slowly it withered away like the dying roses on your rose bush..

The petals fell gracefully to the floor, decaying into the soil, covered in my blood..

I clenched my fists, I raised my voice, because I wasn’t ready for our goodbye just yet..

My aggression did not cause her to flinch..

Standing there she waited..

Stagnant..

As if my feet did not cause the earth to shake, as if my screams didn’t cause the heavens to sound as if it cracked open.. as if my tears didn’t cause the oceans to crash and thrash against shore banks..

I can’t touch the hands of dead bodies..

But i caressed yours..

Waiting to feel the flow of blood within’ your veins, the energy in your skin..

& then Death spoke..

“For this goodbye, you were ready.. feel her energy within the winds you’ve created. She is out of sight and yet all around you.. breathe her in; because it was her last breath that was offered to help calm your storms. It was her last breath that has stopped the earth from trembling beneath your feet… she welcomed me, so she’d always be able to protect you..

a love unafraid of sacrifice..

So scream for her, shake the heavens. Remind the earth of your power, but recognize, that not all goodbyes are forever.”

artsad poetrylove poemsGratitudeFamily
3

About the Creator

Charming_Menace

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani16 days ago

    The line about "your absence". Amazing writing.

  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    OMG, this poem wow-ed me! The depth of the feeling; how she can't touch dead bodies but clung to that one...

  • Fantastic poem! Empathic for the dead! ☠️💀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.