Poets logo

Diet of a Piss Poor Poet

Poetry

By Steve B HowardPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Diet of a Piss Poor Poet
Photo by Max Goncharov on Unsplash

Will Write For Fucking Table Scraps!

I’ll bleed the fat for ink, grind my

bones to powder

and make peasant’s paper.

I’m nourished by the voices in

my head as they suck the morrow

of my ideas.

If I have to starve because of my

verbosity, so be it. I will feed on

literature while my body starves.

It was never about the money or

the glory anyway. The shrieking and

the screaming voices having

a home on the page is enough.

The sad hard truth when you look at what a poet can honestly expect to ever earn from their work. I love writing poetry, but even with three self-published collections and hundreds of poems published in literary journals I know I’ll never earn much from them. And it does sting a bit sometimes, hence this poem.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Steve B Howard

Steve Howard's self-published collection of short stories Satori in the Slip Stream, Something Gaijin This Way Comes, and others were released in 2018. His poetry collection Diet of a Piss Poor Poet was released in 2019.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.