Poets logo

Remains to Display

A poem

By Vic MousseauPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
Runner-up in Poemosaurus Rex Challenge
Remains to Display
Photo by Boukaih on Unsplash

My bones have been dug from the dirt.

From beneath the ground and rock.

Dusted and hung in your halls.

I watch you through empty sockets.

My bones are hung from the rafters,

Situated to dangle just right.

I used to fly on my own, you know.

I used to soar through the skies.

There's an odd weight to being displayed

in nothing more than your bones.

Forever staged and stationary

I can never just dive or let go.

Eagerly you watch me,

Amazement in your eyes.

For how great were the beasts of the ages then,

And even they didn't survive.

Nature raged her wrath,

And all of us gods did fall.

I wonder, small humans what’ll happen,

That makes it your bones they hang on the walls.

nature poetry

About the Creator

Vic Mousseau

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Denelsia Walker12 days ago

    Thank you for sharing with me how the dinos may have felt. A different perspective.👌🏿Nice work. 🎉

  • JBaz12 days ago

    A very moving poem, which echo their thoughts. Congratulations

  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    Congratulations!

  • Christy Munson12 days ago

    Congratulations on Runner-up!!! 🥳 "I used to fly on my own you know." Brilliantly bittersweet. Loved it!

  • Cathy holmes12 days ago

    Well said! Congrats

  • Sandra Tena Cole12 days ago

    Wow, makes you think! Well-done on the runner up 🥰❣️

  • D.K. Shepard12 days ago

    Congrats on Runner-up!! This is superbly done! Loved “There's an odd weight to being displayed in nothing more than your bones.” brilliant lines!

Vic MousseauWritten by Vic Mousseau

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.