Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

DEPRESSED

An Acrostic

By Rene PetersPublished 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
DEPRESSED
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

Deep in a state of despair

Emotional eating, urges to binge creeping up

Pressing thoughts to use a blade

Repressed feelings consuming me

Everlasting numbness

Stressed beyond belief

Spiraling deep into a neverending cycle

Everlasting ruminating thoughts

Destroyed by the everpresent negative thoughts

* * *

I've been struggling with depression and negative thoughts. I was talking to Mother Combs and she suggested writing a poem. I had no idea how to because of struggling with incoherent thoughts and she gave an example of an acrostic. Some of the letters are inspired by hers but none are plagiarized. I know you're reading this so thank you Mother Combs for the idea.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (23)

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 8 months ago

    Yes writing is an expression to relieve depression . I have been there

  • Jennifer David8 months ago

    Thank you for being vulnerable. I truly believe writing, specifically poetry, sets us free. Glad you shared. And glad I came across your poem

  • Melissa Ingoldsby8 months ago

    I do Feel your structure here is a great way to release the tension and fears we all sometimes get during High stress situations, and especially being in a depressed state. Very emotional and well done

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    OK, I agree, you get the Weedan. That word is such a little bugger to us all these days, but dance with the Weedan and blow the blues away. Hope you afre feeling much better.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    You need a Weedan, Rene. Excellent poem. Hope that expressing your feelings have helped you. I think getting it out there always helps. Stay strong.

  • Amy Black8 months ago

    Beautiful, heartfelt pros. Excellent styling.

  • Rowan Finley 8 months ago

    You’re a beautiful person and a beautiful writer!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Great idea! Always good to write about it!! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

  • Lisa santos8 months ago

    Amazing poem Writing can work as a therapy to express your feelings. Keep expressing and sharing with us!!! Congratulations

  • Cindy Calder8 months ago

    The picture drew me in first; it is the embodiment of what I felt when I was deeply depressed. The emotion in your poem is raw and haunting, lyrically beautiful in a special way. Congratulations on the Top Story.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    I feel this deeply. The catharsis of writing can not be downplayed. Mother Combs gave great advice

  • Lynn Jordan8 months ago

    Well done; I understand completely. It's been a dark few weeks for me, and having the outlet of writing has definitely helped. Stick with it, it's definitely cathartic and keeps the mind out of places it shouldn't go. Please reach out if you need to.

  • Test8 months ago

    Glad to hear that you're listening to Mother Combs I hope that writing was cathartic in a way x Very stark and well crafted poem, congratulations on top story 🀍🀍🀍

  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    I'm very glad that you shared your feelings and got such great advice. I hope that writing and sharing this helped relieve that pressure and those urges. You aren't alone- even though it feels that way at times, i know.

  • Sara Wilson8 months ago

    As a former self harmer, I can surely agree with what she told you. Writing is an actual form of therapy and has helped me immensely over the years. Really good job. I hope you find some peace. Breathe. 🩡 Hurting yourself won't actually make anything better. Also congrats on your top story.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is really well done. I'm glad you took the advice and got some feelings out. I hope it helps in some way. Congrats on the TS.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Beautifully expressed, Rene! Life can be so difficult, and I’m so happy Mother Combs encouraged you to write–it can be so healing to get your feelings out. We are here for you, cheering you on, and sending lots of love in your direction! πŸ’«πŸ’žπŸ™πŸ½

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Beautiful poem, Rene. Keep your chin up :)

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Oh so relatable, Rene. This really is beautifully written, hope you feel a bit better soon though. Thank you for sharing this and congrats on Top Story!

  • Pressing thoughts to use a blade. I struggle with that the most. Your poem was very relatable and I'm so sorry you're feeling this way. I hope writing this made you feel better. So grateful to Mother Combs for giving you this idea. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❀️

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Awesome acoustic poem!!! Sending virtual hugs!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    Rene, I hope writing this poem made you feel better. I sure liked this poem.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Hugs, I hope it helps. Your poem is fantastic!

Rene PetersWritten by Rene Peters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.