Poets logo

Crush on You

Don't worry, I won't be honest about it.

By Rene PetersPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Crush on You
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I have a huge crush on you,

I just wish I could be true.

I'm well aware you have a wife,

that's why I won't risk ruining your life.

I also know you have a kid

so my feelings are blocked by a lid.

***

I have a really good friend (for the last 5 years or so) who I have started to like. I first noticed it about three weeks ago when we were doing a group on Zoom. I tried to deny it but yesterday, I realized I need to accept it even though he can't know. I found myself spending time with him a lot because I could be the most "me" and he was okay with it. It got really late for me (11:30 PM) and it was visible to the group in the hotel room (especially him, since he kept checking on me) how tired I was. He looked at me as I was dozing off in a chair and asked if I wanted him to walk me to my room. I said, "If you're willing to, I would definitely appreciate it." I was scared of going anywhere alone because of fear of having a seizure alone. I planned on just hanging out with the group until someone else was planning on going to that area of the hotel. He walked with me so I thanked him profusely. He left the group just because I was tired and fearful.

Anyone who has dealt with crushes on close friends, what helped you get over it? I don't want to cut him off because I don't trust many people but I trust him.

love poems

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • E.K. Daniels8 months ago

    Agreed with some of the advice already given about making a list of the qualities you like, but I’d flip it. Try to find and cultivate those same qualities in yourself. And then you’ll find the love you’re looking for. :)

  • I have no idea how to get over a crush. I'm still hung up over a guy for more than 10 years now, lol. I hope you'd get over him but not lose the friendship. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Love this poem you wrote. Great job. I agree with Suze and Babs. Write down the qualities you like in him. It may just be the fact that he has the qualities you like in a person that attracts you to him, but once you recognize the qualities, you can start looking for them in others. But don't tell him and ruin your friendship. More than likely, this will be a passing crush, and you would hate to lose his friendship over it.

  • Such an honest piece wonderful work and the best way to get over a crush is to find another crush.

  • For right now your friendship with him is meant to be just that... A friendship. You are doing the right thing by not getting any further involved.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Authentic pure and loved it!!! Agree with Suze Kay's advice. If you write down the qualities that you like, it will help you see those characteristics in others!!!

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    I would recommend meditating a little bit on *why* you like him, rather than fixating on the fact that you like him! Something about the way that he treats you, perhaps, or characteristics that you appreciate about him. That can help you put those things in perspective (and hopefully lessen the burning intensity of liking someone romantically), and will also help you recognize those traits in other people that might be a better romantic fit.

  • Test8 months ago

    Loved the raw honesty of this x Wish I had advice to give but really, I don't x Just time and trying to garner self love and appreciation x 🤍

Rene PetersWritten by Rene Peters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.