Poets logo

Demons

Original Song with Piano Chords

By Rene PetersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5

C Dm C Dm

I see the demons, deep within my soul. It's the only way I think that I can

Am C Dm Dm

go. Because of these demons, everything looks gray. The clouds in my head,

C C C Dm

they're all filled up with rain. Who will help me with this endeavor?

F C

Everyone always seems to say, "Never."

C Am F

Why does everyone seem to think they're so clever? But they don't assist

F C C C C

when I say, "Help me," ever. These demons, they won't go away. Why

Dm

doesn't anyone do what I say?

C Dm C Dm

These demons follow me to bed each night. I really just wanna lose this

Am C Dm C

fight. I've tried too hard for way too long. Does what I'm saying sound way

C C Dm F C

too wrong? I feel as though the demons care. Finding that's extremely rare.

C Am F

Why does everyone seem to think that they're so clever. But they don't

F C C C

assist when I say, "Help me," ever. These demons, they won't go away. Why

Dm

doesn't anyone do what I say?

C Dm C Dm Am C

Will I eventually be free? I know my parents agree with me. For so long, I

Dm Dm C C

have felt broken, but the bond the demons and I have is unspoken. We will

C Dm F

be together, forever, like it or not. I guess, in my life, that's just a part of the

C

plot.

I was in a dark place when I originally wrote this, as a poem, on October 30, 2020. I apologize for any differences between what I wrote and what I sang. What I wrote is the original, while what I sang was my "final" copy. I'm sure I will edit it in the future though. I hope you like the poetry aspect of it.

Though tips aren't required, they are highly appreciated. Thank you for your time as well.

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer9 months ago

    This was beautiful. I’m not home reading this but the whole time I wanted to grab my guitar, play the chords, and sing your words. Amazing 🤩

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    This is anazing!!! Loving the lyrics!!! Love this!!! ❤️❤️💕 I am deaf and can't hear your emotional singing. Loe

  • René you are a lovely person. I love the honesty displayed in your lyrics and emotion as you sing. Great work!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.