Poets logo

Demetri Was a Dream of Mine

An acrostic poem

By Gina C.Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
29
Image created with Midjourney

Demetri was a dream of mine--a dream designed (I think) and conjured by my soul...

In Ecuador, that summer when I ran away to find the part of me that wasn't thriving--to fix it up and make it whole.

Set amid the canopies of palm trees and the jungle’s balmy hold…

Tumbling fantasies enchanted me and into fairytales, I stumbled (and) mistook his romances for gold.

"Run away with me", (he said to me) "and you will see together we'll acquire

A kingdom--a new business--we shall build a grand empire." Oh...

Captivated by a man I thought to be an angel ✨sent to save me✨ from the waves of my depression, I turned over all my savings to construct an abstract form of heaven--though...Demetri (oh) Demetri, (he was like a reverie)...I was stuck inside a daydream and

The hands of time would show that all he'd done was lovebomb me. Demetri (oh) Demetri, (he was lovely for awhile)...and

I was like a little puppy, falling to his wit and charming smile. Every part of me above the world and soaring high...(never wondering what the fall'd be like...), once bethroned up

On cloud nine...

Never questioning his motives--I was just a foolish girl without much focus; he enchanted me and danced with me but was really just the Devil in disguise. Demetri (oh) Demetri was a dream, you see, of mine... I awoke from my distraction (I) was broke without a fraction (I) should have seen it coming, (I)... should have probably been more wise. 💔

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

*

Author's Note: This may or may not be a true story. 🥲

*

This poem was written for the Dancing with Distraction Challenge. :)

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

I'd be over the moon if we could support each other! I am an active member on the Vocal Discord Server, as well as the Vocal + Assist, Great Incantations, The Vocal Social Society, The Vocal Creators Lounge, and The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Facebook groups. Posting your work there is the best way for me to support you! :) ❤️

heartbreak
29

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Enchanting. This possibly true story reminds me of the epic Spanish series on Prime. The Time In Between. You could have played the lead. Wonderful poem Gina.😀 Makes me want to possibly hunt Mr D down and educate him. 🤣

  • Luke Foster11 months ago

    Wonderful story through poetry, and meets the description of the challenge well. Great job 👏

  • Kevin Newton11 months ago

    This is a beautiful (and sad) story. Very well done. (I hope this doesn’t rub the wrong way because, for me, it is a beautiful compliment): this story channels elements of Taylor Swift in the best way and I LOVE it! Thanks for sharing!

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    It happens to the best of us. There are some predators out there that prey on the beaten and the bruised, knowing that they are easier to manipulate and deceive in their vulnerable, broken state. Well done, Gina.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Stupid damn Demetris of the world!! You painted that picture all too clearly. Beautiful work, but hugs for the maybe true portion, my friend :)

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Wow. Gina I promised I’d make it here. I haven’t even attempted this Dancing with Distracting Challenge. This piece spoke to me is so many ways. You know I’ve tried to pick a line here or there to include but I can’t. This poem of yours is such a complete unit that it seems wrong to even try. Love the typography design layout for this piece … embedded distraction in a way yet core to the concept. I only recently heard the word love bombing in the whirl wind beginning of a relationship. ‘Love bombing! Beware.’ Yet the trap. How can you pick the Devil in disguise when you’re broken? I experience Depression (I’m in an episode now) as part of my mental illness and I deeply feel the dream offered. When we’re vulnerable you can see in hindsight with insight … they choose you. A wonderful poem. Good luck in the Challenge!! Pauline 🌸

  • Never wondering what the fall would be like. This line punched me in the gut so hard. I fell so hard every single time because those guys brought me soaring so high up on cloud nine. The higher we are, the harder we fall. And trust me, we always fall. Your acrostic was just so relatable! All the lovebombing, the Devil disguised as an Angel, me never questioning his motives. If this indeed is a true story, I'm so sorry this happened to you as well my sweet Red Partner. Sending you lots of love and hugs! 🥺❤️

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is tragically beautiful. Well done, my friend.

  • Obsidian Words11 months ago

    I think this is beautiful. If I may, I think the additions of punctuation and bolding and such has taken away from the story, I see that it gives the story 'texture' but I think it can hold its own without the embellishments.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Snap! I think that kind of one-sided relationship has happened to all of us. But I highly doubt many would be able to describe it as well as you do in your poem. Powerful!

  • ARC11 months ago

    Yeahhh... something about this kind of power and clarity makes it 'may not be' a true story feel like a bit of a longshot ;) Amazing work, Gina. And though I'm sorry for the heartbreak you (may have) had to experience, your tone sounds powerful, learned, and triumphant in ways. Hoping I'm tuning into something true there, and that this turned into a valuable experience you used as an opportunity for growth and expansion. 💙 (Not to mention... it really was fun while it lasted, wasn't it? 😉)

  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    Oooof. Scammed. Awesome work, Gina!

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Your words move me. Another exceptional poem. The acrostic is your medium!

  • Ahna Lewis11 months ago

    Loved this one! You captured the emotion and heartbreak so well. Why, oh why, must there be so many Demetri's in this world??

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    True or not … it’s a winner. 👏🏼

  • Diani Alvarenga11 months ago

    Amazing, Gina! ❤️

  • Very touching and emotional and raw and powerful! Extremely well expressed. I can feel the hurt.

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    😩😩😩. Does he have like 10 brothers or something? cause I think a bunch of us know him too…. 👏👏👏❤️ awesome work, Gina!

  • Wonderful creativity 💖📝💯❗

  • Fabulous creation. I also knew Demetri

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    Wonderfully-spun heartache. Love it.

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    This so incredible! And (sadly) relatable. But I love it! 💕

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Damn Gina, this is awesome. So creative. Another story within a poem! Loved it! Well done, friend! It is a sad story too and Demitri sounds like a douche!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    My God, you are so good at this. You never disappoint and your words always move me.Excellent work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.