Poets logo

Restored, Renewed And Unfettered

Poppy's Prompt #5

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
5
Restored, Renewed And Unfettered
Photo by Jené Stephaniuk on Unsplash

*

I paint straight into the wind

changing the image in my reflection

I've shut myself down again

because my heart needed protection

When I slipped and let you in

you spread a toxified infection

You beg forgiveness from your sins

with vile, venomous intentions

When my heart is on the mend

and I let down all my defenses

That's about when you descend

baring all of your pretenses

You erode my self-esteem pretending

that I was your princess

A wicked scheming friend

and your game, again, commences

You address the envelope

bending the meanings I observed

I was tangled in your rope

of lovely adjectives and verbs

Creating palaces of hope

caught up in your pretty cursive words

Until provoked, your grasp I broke

leaving you buried in the dirt

slam poetryMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    love the power you took back

  • Grz Colm13 days ago

    Nicely formatted and filled with meaning! 👏☺️

  • Poppy 14 days ago

    Every line of this fits together so seamlessly and perfectly. "I've shut myself down again because my heart needed protection When I slipped and let you in you spread a toxified infection" Ahh I love the raw but masterfully expressed emotion in this. Great work!

  • This was so poignant, emotional and intense. Loved it so much!

  • Dana Crandell14 days ago

    Damn, Kelli! "I paint straight into the wind" is golden. I'd give you a win just for that line!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.