Poets logo

Decluttering

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Decluttering
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

You left a mess for me to clean up on my own, and I'm still working through it.

Weeks later, the empty cans are still where you left them on the floor. Swiss cheese is growing mold in the fridge. The plants are dead on the window sill, but I threw out your loofa and took the pictures off the fridge.

I'm taking steps, picking up the mental clutter first this time. The love wasted on you evaporated, cycled through to water my growing independence, and it is blooming with newfound freedom.

The barriers built of "I can't" and "they won't let me" and "they'll be mad if I" have crumbled. New pathways have opened, and I am skipping along without your hands around my throat to keep me in place.

Every "I miss you" has reached a landfill by now, silently replaced by "thank you, good riddance" to match the new kettle that came in the mail.

All that's left is to fill a few trash bags and leave them with you and your carelessness on the curb.

Free Versesad poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Story of my life. I'm sorry. I didn't mean to be so rotten & careless. Excellent poem, btw.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.