Poets logo

Who I Am

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
8
Who I Am
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I need you to understand that there are different versions of me.

There is who I am when I am at work, who I am with my mother, and who I am with my father

coincidentally, that is also who I am when I am biting my tongue.

There is who I am with my friends, who I am online, and who I am alone

she is unfiltered, the truest form of me.

There is who I was growing up, who I was in college, and who I was with them

also known as who I was when I felt alone.

There is who I am in my head, who I am to strangers, and who I am perceived to be

the only version of me I cannot control,

so I need you to see it all.

Acknowledge every fraction and let me find myself again with you.

listlove poemsFree Verse
8

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    To be seen is both a wild & dangerous gift. To be seen for who you truly are & to be accepted & graced with love is a treasure beyond measure. It is also a treasure that is meant not to be held but to be spent. May this coming year be one that is filled with the unparalleled joy both of seeing & being seen for you. Blessings to you & all yours, Kay.

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    So relatable, like it was written for me. Thank you for sharing.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    "the only version of me I cannot control" Beautiful poem!🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.