Poets logo

dear Hope.

A letter of accepting and asking for forgiveness.

By Harleen 🤎Published about a year ago • 1 min read
dear Hope.
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Dear hope,

To practice day to day

The things you made me say;

Outward and unspoken

I’ve become.

Standing, unmoving.

I’ve been refined;

(Like a tree in all winds).

So I write this letter,

sitting, leaning on a tree,

contemplating the dandelions in the distance.

Should I make a wish?

…

No.

Dear hope,

I could’ve made it without you…

(I didn’t want to).

Stop.

…

You are life

(The petals happy with dew).

I’m surviving

(The dead bark rotting from the roots).

Try again.

…

Dear hope,

Hold me close.

Let me rest,

Let me contest.

I want to believe

You’re all I’ll ever need.

Keep going.

Dear hope…

Don’t let go.

Don’t worry,

I won’t show my corners

To anyone anymore.

The doubts that dwell in their darkness,

The dream I’ve long abandoned,

Hope, you’ve since been forgiven.

Though,

Leave if you want,

Go if you must.

Still,

Don’t say I didn’t atone—

Don’t think I’ve never been in love…

My dear Hope,

(you’re all I’ll ever love).

And dear Hope,

I still hope,

I’ll see you again.

One day, Someday

When the sky blinks

The dim pink sinks

To lay at rest, by sunset;

The time will come,

Where hope might find you

yet.

Then lead

You to me

Where I will wait for you

Eternally

By this tree.

Dutifully yours,

(Whatever is the opposite

of hope...)

performance poetrynature poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Harleen 🤎

just some words on a page, but they mean so much more than that✨🤎 :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Harleen 🤎Written by Harleen 🤎

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.