Poets logo

I wish I was a writer.

- wrote someone once upon a time.

By Harleen 🤎Published about a year ago • Updated about a year ago • 1 min read

I wish

I was

a writer,

So I could tell you then,

In all possible dimensions,

things better left to be read.

. . .

I wish

I was

a singer.

So I could sing it out loud,

The songs I would’ve written

hidden amongst the crowd.

. . .

If only I were a poet

It could all come together so;

I could tell you how I feel, so easy,

Words dancing off my tongue.

Instead I

write them down heavy

The metal and ink together sown,

The letters weld together

deciphering into code.

. . .

So—

I wish

I was

a painter,

So I could add another layer…

to the letters I would’ve written

if only i were a writer.

And if only i were a writer,

I could’ve been yours.

performance poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Harleen 🤎

just some words on a page, but they mean so much more than that✨🤎 :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    But you are a writer. Nice socks, by the way. I love this wishing you were other so you could express it better. The irony of it - just lovely.

Harleen 🤎Written by Harleen 🤎

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.