Poets logo

Please Release Me

A heart whittled down

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Please Release Me
Photo by Chalo Garcia on Unsplash

In our youth we were inseparable

We ran on the beach

Swung on the playground

Shared lunches, crushes, secrets

We were the odd couple

According to parents and friends

Always there for each other

Despite any others thoughts

…………………………….

Then we grew older …

I declared for you my intent

My knowledge that we were meant

Only for each other

Now unto forever

You laughed at me

Yet you took my hand in yours

………………………..

But as reality intruded

Vicissitudes of life wore on you

You pulled away

While I was still tugging closer

……………………………

When I turned on my heartlight

To guide you to shore

You threw a rock

Shattering the lens of my soul.

********************

When I reached out

A hand to assist

You chopped it off

*******************

You were weary, exhausted, spent

I offered you a refuge in which to rest

You burnt it down with your vitriol

*******************

You were hungry

I gave you bread

You spit it out

*******************

You needed a shoulder to cry on

I cleaned your tears with my kisses

You spat in my face

*******************

Yet still I loved you

Gave of myself to you

Comforted you with my body

Sheltered you in my arms

Cried when you left

Welcomed you back when you returned

**********************

My own world now crashes down

My very universe collapsing

Into the black hole of you

***********************

I gave up everything for you

Now I need you….

Where are you?

In the words of Earth Angel

I’m a fool…, a fool in love with you

*****************

Now I beg you

Release me and let me love again

heartbreak

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 days ago

    I learned a new word today, vicissitudes! This was soooo heartbreaking. We continue to give and give although the person receiving never appreciates it. And when we need them, they'll never be around

  • Grz Colm3 days ago

    Nicely romantic! Terrific job Andrew. 😊👍

  • WONDERUL. Reminds me of 30+ years ago when my first left home - to feel young again, he said. He tried once to come back saying I'd never make it without him. That's when I broke my shell and was determined to prove him wrong. I did.

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.