Poets logo

Dear heart…

An open conversation with my heart

By Kenneth cruzPublished 3 days ago 2 min read

Dear heart,

You have so many holes,

you’re torn apart,

still you beat, still you yearn, Are you smart?

What have we learned?

We have learned much.

Do not let pity become a crutch.

My wounds you now know.

You even recognize those that have stabbed and broken me.

Even deeper you now see when your own actions betrayed me. Every wound, scar and lesson has been earned…

And what now? Bleeding, I feel life and joy are fleeting.

Every breath a step closer to death What do we have left?

Have our chances at real love depleted?

Have we been defeated?

I know not outcomes, only that I still beat.

Even if at times I may seem weak.

I do not know if we can have the love of which you speak.

But I know as long as I pump and you wear me on your sleeve, we shall continue to seek.

That is what I call a journey, not defeat.

In the end does it matter?

You bleed pools of red, and I doubt we shall find the romanticism we seek.

They mock and laugh, our ending will be tragic and sad.

Our fate akin to Hector in the Iliad.

We’ve loved, we’ve learned. Moments of pain, heaven, and ecstasy have left our soul eternally stained and burned.

Deep down we hope to recreate what we once had.

Perhaps that is a mistake.

What comes next that we must embrace. Wear it like a brace and respect its own unique pace.

Only then will we find bliss in this chaotic place.

The road may be arduous

But as long as blood courses through me and I am not part of your carcass

I shall continue to beat and I shall continue to seek.

I suppose, but through your wounds your blood also pours upon me like an open hose.

Our ending no one knows,

But time is our enemy,and I watch it falling fast

Much like sand through an hourglass

I dread falling to a final slumber with no one to hold my hand.

So you can beat and seek.

Just a I pray, but I am at a point where I can’t find joy in my day.

For time has slipped away.

I don’t know what else to say.

I grow older each day

And it feels like true love has already gotten away.

Say what you say.

I’m a muscle like any other.

Even through your blunders

I’ve been trained and torn,

And yes age has me worn.

But I’m strong and beat

So I shall continue to seek

Each and every day until you pass away.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 days ago

    Oh my, that was so poignant and intense. Hope you're okay. Loved your poem!

Kenneth cruzWritten by Kenneth cruz

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.