Poets logo

Dear Anxiety

Chana Saacks

By Chana SaacksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Dear Anxiety,

You keep me in a room surrounded by four walls accompanied by a bed.

You hold the key like it’s your lucky charm,

keep me close, arms linked like we can never be apart.

Every morning I hear them jingle, like a song so sweet it can make your heart tingle.

Every morning I hear the key become one with the lock.

It twists just like my heart does when I hear the click, like a clock.

Tic tic tic

The door is open, giving me the impression that I can leave at my discretion.

I walk slowly to the door, peeking through the gap - tempted to look more.

I hold my breath, my heart is pounding out of my chest,

I flip through my mind, trying to digest.

The door is open - I can go!

I can leave right now, I can be free and on my own.

So I make a run for it, I am this close.

And then the shackles scream, reminding me where I am.

And then the door closes, and the darkness falls again.

And then the keys jingle, singing the same old tune.

You came back, comforting me like an old friend.

You bring me to my bed, surrounded by the four walls.

Stroke my cheeks, wiping away the tears that start to fall.

You say one day I’ll get the chance to walk out of these doors.

“Tomorrows another day, tomorrow can be yours”.

And every night, like clockwork, you shut the door behind you,

The shackles are quiet, proud they have confined you.

Tic tic tic

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Chana Saacks

Pain is inevitable, I know that. What I didn’t know was that perspective can change. All it takes is a pair of different colored glasses, and of course a bit of work. I’m almost there, I can feel it. I want to share that with the world :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Chana Saacks is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.