Poets logo

Collared by the cat

A love poem for a feline

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 7 days ago Updated about 23 hours ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
16
Collared by the cat
Photo by Joe Cleary on Unsplash

For those cat lovers out there who like a good chuckle check out this treatise on how to a proper cat:

https://vocal.media/poets/feline-dignity-how-to-be-a-cat

********************************************************

Cupid’s cat

Into my heart you stealthily crept

Padding on tiny cat paws

Silent as a wraith

A mew of longing

Stroked my eardrums

Driving an arrow deep into my skin

Like that of Cupid

You raised a tiny paw to me

Before fastidiously licking it clean

Rubbery pads stroked my leg

Tiny razor claws retracted

Sending shivers into my marrow

When I lifted you up

Your cerulean eyes to see

Raspy, rough, your tongue

Blessed me with a kiss

So tiny, so furry, soft, warm

You weigh less than a pound

Yet I felt a weight of love

Heavy as an anvil

Upon which you have forged

A sword of Damacles

Hanging over my head

To my mental, my emotional well being

Your soft purring have forged a link

Binding me for life

A bargain struck

Signed in tender love

Wherein you shall provide warmth

Companionship, emotional support

In return I provide food

A warm bed, a loving home

You swat me with your paw

Letting me know you need me

I stroke your downy soft fur

Luxuriating in it’s silken down

You caress me with your raspy tongue

I ruffle your little head

It seems you get the best of this bargain

Not so

My heart is full

My life, my soul, completed

You are the once missing piece of the puzzle

The hole filled

My picture complete

So sir feline I beg you stay

We shall complete each other

In comfortable companionship

Each day of our lives

Thank you for coming into my life

Odenature poetrylove poemsGratitudeFree VerseFamily
16

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydreda day ago

    Excellent and Deserved Top Story, We are featuring this in the Vocal Social Society Community Adventure on Facebook and would love for you to join us there

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Andrea Corwin 4 days ago

    Oh goodness, this is the best poem, describing cats; how they touch us with paws and fill our hearts; purring, communicating. I love cats and LOVED your poem!!! Congrats on your TS😻😻😻😻

  • Rachel Deeming4 days ago

    Andrew, what a lovely tribute to a little kitten.

  • Congrats on Top Story! Another human struck by a cat : )

  • Cathy holmes4 days ago

    That is so sweet. Abigail approves. 😁 congrats on the TS.

  • Awww, this was so sweet! I loved it so much

  • Aw; that's so beautiful. I had a cat from the time she was 8 weeks old. Unfortunately, she passed away from a cancerous malignant tumor when she was 11 years old. But what a life we had together. She was definitely a joy to have around.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.