Poets logo

Rabbit and Fox Make Dinner Plans

A fable for the dialogue poetry contest

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 12 days ago 2 min read

Ah, Mister Rabbit, thou art succulent, sweet.

But Mr.Fox, I am stringy and have huge bony feet.

Still, your meat is tender, a much needed feast.

Please don’t kill me thou most noble beast.

I need thine haunches to keep me going.

Of thine hunger I am aware, this I am knowing

This, fat one, I believe not, surely thou do lie.

I ate poison berries, eat me and you shall die.

What berries dost thou speak of?

In yonder briar wherein I did shove.

Mr. Rabbit, I have kits and needed protein thou surely hast.

Please, I too have kits whom without me shall not last.

How many kits, where be they hid?

Over yonder hill neath a human made iron lid.

That hill there with the tall pine trees?

Indeed in the wood under a hive of bees.

Hmm…, wilt thou take me there I’d love to see?

Most assuredly if you only eat me not.

I seek not thine death, only sustenance is sought.

Do you like kits? They are fluffy and cute.

I love younglings, yours are surely a beaut.

Take thine paw from my back. I’ll lead you there.

You will treat me fairly, this thou dost swear?

Assuredly noble red fox, I swear on my life.

We two have little need of struggle or strife.

Let me up, I shall take you straight away.

Fine, show me thine babes, my feelings it may sway.

Thank you sir Fox, I have respect for your type.

Forgo the flattery, I need not thine hype.

This way sir Fox, behind that huge bole.

This one here, you swear on your immortal soul?

Yes this one here, behind it you shall see.

You go first, behind you I shall be.

Hear the buzzing, the bees of which I spoke?

Indeed, be silent we want them not woke.

Right this way sir Fox here they lie

Ahhhhhhhh! Help me from this trap or I shall surely die.

Help you I shall not sir or you will eat of my flesh.

I swear I shall not for you are stringy like mesh.

Good day to you sir Fox, I wish you well.

May you and your kits be spit roasted in hell.

Look out below incoming hive.

NO! I swear I shall escape and for revenge to strive.

Now this, my friend is most truly funny.

Ouch! Ouch! Thou horrible trickster bunny.

Goodby friend Fox, enjoy thine hole.

Help me out I am not a burrowing mole.

Nope.

Dope.

surreal poetryhumorFamilychildrens poetry

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 days ago

    Oh I was so worried for the rabbit. I'm happy he managed to trick the fox heheheh

  • Patrick M. Ohana12 days ago

    Poor Fox is usually the smart one. A wonderful tale. Good luck in the challenge : )

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.