Poets logo

Coffee Shop Napkin

Poem

By McKenzie McQuadePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Coffee Shop Napkin
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Heart thumping as I nervously scribble on my Starbucks' napkins:

Darling,

I do hope you fall in love with my prose. For I do believe you are far prettier than any rose.

I swear this is my heart speaking and not just the gin.

I have drunkenly stumbled down the street into this coffee shop. Only intending to sober up before my next stop.

But while ordering my coffee.

Bewitchingly I froze.

Perhaps it is meant to be punishment for last night's irresistible sin.

Of running away from a lover's quarrel I just can't win.

But who's to say it isn't also a sign of another I'm meant to move on this time?

With that line being said I hope you have well read.

And accept this gift burning a hole in my pocket.

What was meant to be a make up locket.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

McKenzie McQuade

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.