Poets logo

Cloven

A multi-part, multi-form poem of a mother's literal and figurative swelling and contracting; on the pain of disillusionment.

By KillianPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2022
Cloven
Photo by Matt Hoffman on Unsplash

Bones warmed, Summer’s heat

Head swimming, too sick to eat

Inhale, exhale. Pray.

***

A mathematical symbol

That most adults would recognize.

Two tiny lines, in parallel.

To its meaning, Woman's wise.

Cinder block upon my chest.

Panic, terror… even shame.

A part of me forever stricken

By a babe without a name.

***

Autumn’s love of change

Colorful, energizing

Eyes on tomorrow.

***

All things shifting,

So many unknowns.

My belly gets rounder.

The child within grows.

A few new beginnings;

A few endings too.

Not just me anymore;

Now me and you.

***

Bitter Winter sets

Mothers settle in and wait

Hope and love grow fast

***

One mathematical symbol

Tilts my world on its side.

The place I had been going

In irrelevance, died.

***

Buh dum, buh-duh dum

Hello there, Sweet Perfection

Kissed by coming Spring

***

Made from my womb.

Suckled at my breast.

Cradled in my arms.

Held safe against my chest.

Life’s ideal, my new dream.

All else a blur, but never you.

Love still growing, ever swelling.

My awe of you, forever new.

You were born, and my soul cleaved.

Stretched taut between us like a violin string.

A bond I knew could never be broken.

A living, breathing, magnificent thing.

***

Days and years pass.

Moment by moment, a boy you become.

Something changes gradually.

It’s in my soul-string’s thrum.

In sleep, I find you playing.

Laughter like a trickling brook.

Beckoning me to “Come.”

“Come have a closer look.”

Excited breaths and pitter patter steps.

I chase you down the rabbit hole.

Searching, reaching, grasping.

Running down the sound of my soul.

Marshmallow cheeks, soft and flushed.

Curly top and perfect, cherry lips.

A golden yellow flower

Clutched between your tiny fingertips.

I kneel on the ground before you,

Eyes wide, I drink you in.

My heart hits its bursting point.

As you say: “Yook, Mawey. Dan-dee-yi-den.”

I bury my nose in your hair,

Whisper “Mommy loves you.” Squeeze you tight.

I try to memorize your skin, your smell.

Pray that time might freeze so you might

***

But then, I wake.

Not much left of me that's whole.

Clinging, Cleaving, Cloven.

Bleeding out from the dangling cord of my soul.

Shriveled, eroded.

More relic than living being.

A husk where a heart used to beat.

A memory now, and here’s the thing:

I cleaved to you, never realizing

All along, through all the years,

You were struggling upward, fighting,

While I fed you on my doubts and fears.

***

Time, the thieving bitch.

Yeah, I know her all too well.

So many days I’ve wasted

Baking in my self-made hell.

Praying for sundown and

The silence and forgetfulness of sleep.

Solitude, oblivion, and peace

To loosen all the unwhole things I’ve reaped.

Each night a chance to reset

And wake up a healthier, happier me.

Maybe I could learn to be a better mom

Help you grow, set you free.

***

A tug-of-war between my soul and You

Clinging, cleaving

Cleaving, clinging

We tugged and tugged

Until it snapped

You were free

I was mangled

You were free

I was lost

You were free

I was what was left, not me

I woke up cloven.

Thank God you were free.

***

A new sun rises

The same day begun again

Now ten years too late

sad poetry

About the Creator

Killian

Words... Trees... People... Life

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Amelia Mapstone2 years ago

    Wow... I have chills. This poem is quite the spell. Thank you for sharing such an open and authentic part of the human experience of Motherhood... <333 Sending lots of Love & Healing your way.

  • Paul Beckett2 years ago

    Fully rendered, painful and poignant. Moved me to tears the twice I’ve read, then re-read it.

  • Modest Nomad2 years ago

    I felt the pain.

  • Absolutely amazing

  • Vida Nazir2 years ago

    im crying!

KillianWritten by Killian

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.