Poets logo

Reflections

The perfect image

By Maili PaulPublished 6 days ago 1 min read
Reflections
Photo by Ian Kirkland on Unsplash

I don’t like my legs,

Its cause your thunderous thighs,

I know… and she has no thigh gap,

Let’s also not mention, too short!

And my feet stick out,

At an awkward angle, she interjected.

Yes, I completely agree

Maybe focus higher up?

What, to my waist?

Maybe your breasts, you’re fluffy.

But her breasts are too small.

Not to mention they are nursing flabby.

And my arms are manly.

Maybe hide them with a lacy jacket?

Well, if you wake up and work out.

All too true a statement.

Tears swam in my eyes.

Don’t cry, you’re stronger than that.

And your mascara will run.

Plus, someone might notice.

Is there nothing likeable about me…

But the reflections in the dressing room sat silent.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Maili Paul

I'm autistic. I'm differently abled. I'm a mom of 4 boys and 1 girl. I'm work from home. I'm happily married. I like blue and yellow, particularly together.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Manisha Dhalani5 days ago

    Deep topic. Nicely written.

  • Andrea Corwin 6 days ago

    Oh no! You fooled me, I swore it was a bunch of friends yaking away. I loved the twist but I hope no one self- criticizes that much! 💋💕👏

Maili PaulWritten by Maili Paul

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.