Poets logo

Cellphone zombies

A True Crime/Dark story/Dark Poetry Facebook entry

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023

"You are all allowing the phone obsession to turn you into zombies", my mother yelled at me as I walked out the door, my eyes glued to the screen.

"Awww! Mom. Don't be so dramatic". I replied rather absently.

Should i not have listened

When mother said, "look before you cross the road"

well, i did look

but then my eyes returned to the 'Smartphone screen'

i kept walking, long after all the sensible people

stood safely upon the sidewalk

My question is "If this damned phone is so 'smart', why

did it not warn me about the rather large S..U..V

barreling towards me at breakneck speed

Ok, so the sign clearly read:

The conversation was so spicy

dishing dirt on an innocent soul

it could very well have waited

till i arrived at the mall

Screech.. screech..scrunchhhh..screechhhhhhhh!

"get out the road you f...ing idiot"

Thuddddd...blinding lights of shooting pain

then nothing

Too late...i felt the full impact of the 5 megaton rock

the SUV well could have been a meteor hurtled from above

My body flew high into the sky

fell to earth with bone creaking, crunching snaps

my arms were twisted to the sides

my legs shattered in fifteen places

my skull cracked in four places

my eyes were blinded by the goo and blood

oozing from my head

i could not feel my body

i could not move

Doctors said I had haemorrhage on the inside

why I am alive is a true miracle

everybody said so

i will heal with time

but i will never be the same

Six months later, I looked like this:

Learn from my mistake

Don't be a smartphone zombie!!!!!

performance poetry

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (32)

  • Emily Binkleyabout a year ago

    Wow. Such a great story, with an important lesson.

  • Shivani Parekhabout a year ago

    It is so interesting the way this poem entertains as well as educates the readers. Absolute masterpiece!

  • Real Poeticabout a year ago

    I absolutely love this. So true. πŸ‘πŸΌ

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Novel, this was so engaging and intense! It was well written and had a great flow to it! I love the way you went with this idea, so gruesome and awful but in a creative way! Glad he survived and learned his lesson, but kind of disappointed he didn't pay the ultimate price for not listening to his mother! 😜 Also, saw this was Top Story the other day, so a belated congratulations are in order! πŸŽ‰πŸ’œ

  • Great story, and so relatable! I had a cellphone zombie walk out right in front of my car just yesterday! Well done!

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Oy! U over there! Congrats on your top story! 😁

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Awesome work! Very clever!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Great writing and message. Well done and congrats on the top story.

  • Pauline Fountainabout a year ago

    Wow! Congratulations Novel!! I love to watch them anywhere and everywhere but especially when gathered in purposeful masses. Like β€˜cellphone peak hour’ down the Queen Street Mall in Brisbane. They walk with long strides heading towards Central Station in the City for the outbound trains home. In fact I used to bravely stand at risk facing them in the midst and video them. Until … a cellphone zombie unbeknown to me was navigating the walk across the Mall and crashed into me. Result? Phone dropped and screen smashed. Yet the cellphone zombie continued seemingly unaware. Thank you again for a great reading experience Pauline 🌸

  • Lol, this was awesomeeee! It had humour and also a very powerful message! You did such an amazing job on this! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!! Loving it!!! Congratulations on T S too!!!πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’•

  • Dylan about a year ago

    This is all too real in today's society, too many smart phone zombies! Well done!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Very good warning! We all act like this I think lol but it’s not a laughing matterβ€¦πŸ˜’ congratulations on top story!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Congratulations , thanks so much for entering it in the Zombie phone Challenge πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

  • SHERYabout a year ago

    NIceeee .

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Well, this is something I can relate to. I have seen people walk through intersections without looking up from their phones, and I have a warning on my page about them. Great TS, Ms. Allen!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Great challenge entry! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Clever. Great job πŸ‘ congrats

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    That was great! and a powerful lesson on how not to become a victim of The Cell Phone Zombie. πŸ’–

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear 'N' ~ So glad I've discovered your blog/with such lovely dropdowns. *I've subscribed to you; with pleasure. Although we all have our 'Cell Rants' I've written "Brain Freeze" with the same 'Vigor' ~ Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Lol...I will admit to laughing a lot at this. And this has just enough realism in it to make it kinda frightening! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    I laughed I shouldn't have but I did. The truth is stranger...

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great, and all too possible. Congrats on the TS

  • Congratulations on your Top Story πŸ’―

  • Noor Chaudharyabout a year ago

    Well…..great work and you are spitting facts .

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.