Poets logo

Caught in a Trap

Dinner will be served

By Colleen Millsteed Published 7 months ago 2 min read
7
Photo courtesy of the Author

I was freely going about my day,

Doing the things I love to do,

Watching the light filter through,

As the sun rose on the horizon too.

🐟

I was keeping cool from the sun’s warmth,

Lazily wandering in a haphazard manner,

Looking for breakfast as I freely drifted,

Taking it as it comes, I’m not much of a planner.

🐟

I set my sights on an unexpected delicacy,

Dropped into my lap right before my eyes,

I sneak up quietly, my hunger pangs roaring,

And chomp down hard much to its surprise.

🐟

But it has the last laugh or so it seems,

Because I’ve been caught in some sort of a trap,

I’m ripped through my world on a roller coaster,

And out of my comfort zone I land in a flap.

🐟

I lay somewhere foreign to me,

And all of a sudden I can’t seem to catch my breath,

I toss and turn, struggle with all my might,

While gasping horrifically to my certain death.

🐟

I feel heavy and sluggish as I fight,

Not an experience I’m familiar with ever,

Why can’t I endeavour to escape?

And what is it that has me tethered forever?

🐟

My eyes glaze over, my time has come,

My fight slows and I lay ever so still,

Realising my day is done, I’ve been horribly beaten,

To be served up as dinner against my will.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

nature poetry
7

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    Hmmm, I do believe there's something fishy about this one.

  • I'm so sad 😭😭😭😭😭 Poor fishy 🥺

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Hmm. I think I want to be a vegetarian all of a sudden 😁... Great poem! 💖

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    What a tale!!! Love this one, Colleen!!!

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Hi-C ~ From your comment under my "Sugar Daddy" we all interpret and reflect off of the writer's words as we will. May I tell you where I went with yours: It's actually fun for me when nothing about an article is what attracted me to it it the 1st place; as I had written. I read it and what I relate to; of course we all do that Colleen. So here it is: Elvis sang "Suspicious Minds ~ Caught in a Trap." We saw him perform this in Las Vegas late in his career. Great memory! - He had a lotta Nerve - 'j'

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Oh dear. Poor little fishy 🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.