Poets logo

Castle O'Carry

Carry me back

By Christy MunsonPublished 15 days ago โ€ข 1 min read
Castle O'Carry
Photo by benjamin lehman on Unsplash

Castle O'Carry

Oh, carry me back

Back to the days

The days before you

~*~

Before you were someone

Someone to love me

Love me and leave me

Alone by the sea

~*~

Alone by the sea I'll stay, waiting and wondering

Wondering if ever your love was for me

~*~

For me you were perfect

Perfect and darling

Darling, my dearest, forever you'll be

~*~

Forever you'll be in my head and my heart, dear

Dearly I hold hope you'll come rescue me

Rescue me now from this castle's old turret

The turret from whence I shall soon cease to be

~*~

Castle O'Carry

Oh, carry me back

Back to the days

The days before you

Before you were someone

Someone to love me

Love me and leave me

Alone by the sea

______________

Copyright ยฉ 06/11/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: ๐Ÿฅณ

JUN | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR | MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • Shirley Belk9 days ago

    beautiful rhythm and Edgar A. Poe--ish. Beautiful

  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Exquisitely penned a heartbreaking shanty!! Loved it!!๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธโค๏ธ

  • Farhat Naseem13 days ago

    Lovely

  • Well-wrought! The rhythmic flow of this is superb! Had it been Mario that found her at the castle, he'd have been so relieved, but, alas, so few are as good a dude as our prodigal Italian plumber! (If you don't get that joke, I apologize! Dad's gotta dad-joke! Keeps our nervous systems aligned or something... "The princess is in another castle".)

  • Caroline Craven14 days ago

    Absolutely flawless. Iโ€™m going to jump on the band wagon and say that this should definitely be a top story!

  • John Cox14 days ago

    Iโ€™m all in on this one, Christy. Achingly lovely and lonely. Iโ€™m with LC. This has TS written all over it!

  • Matthew Fromm14 days ago

    Second L.C.'s nomination! great work.

  • I love this, and I'm having a tantrum if it doesn't get Top Story โค๏ธ The rhythm of it is perfect, like being swayed on someone's arms, and the echoes on those lines add to this effect.

  • D.K. Shepard14 days ago

    Pure lyrical excellence! A delightful read, Christy! Love the โ€œCastle O'Carry Oh, carry me backโ€ couplets!

  • Novel Allen14 days ago

    It does feel like a song, like Rapunzel high up in the turret letting down her hair. Such a lovely nostalgic poem.

  • Katarzyna Popiel14 days ago

    This piece needs a melody!

  • This felt so lyrical and I sang it to my own tune! It was so poignant, relatable and so beautifully written! I loved it!

  • Christy, it's amazing to me how this urge for love is so universal and so old. We all feel it and you have elegantly represented this idea.

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    I feel like this is an old lament. Familiar, yet new.

  • Rachel Deeming15 days ago

    This reads like a traditional song, Christy from years ago.

  • Ameer Bibi15 days ago

    A very beautiful read once again You always come up with unique ideas to write

Christy MunsonWritten by Christy Munson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.