Poets logo

Carried Away

A poem by Lena

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Carried Away
Photo by Nathan Jennings on Unsplash

Song: "The Far Side of the World" by Tidelines

***

Author's Note: I recently discovered this song and band and have been sustained over the past year and a half with their music and the music that I have found through them. This music speaks to my soul in ways only a "highlander" might understand. I hope you enjoy the song and the poem it inspired.

***

Oh, how the music makes me sway

And the lyrics carry me away

I feel the smile tugging at my lips

As the rhythm catches my hips

***

I see myself on those shores faraway

I reach out as my fingers find the way

A message carried by the wind

As time and space to me bends

***

Though your home is a stranger to me

It's the place my heart longs to be

All these many miles between us

I feel them in the moments of silence

***

But your song reaches out to me

And I know it's the same sky you see

I look up and see you in the stars

And I know exactly where you are

***

One day, I know we will stand together

Never to be parted from each other

Until that day comes, I will sway

And let your lyrics carry me away

***

Author's final note: Thank you for taking the time to read my poem. If you enjoyed what you read, please click HERE for more, and don't forget to LIKE, SHARE, & SUBSCRIBE! Tips are Always Greatly Appreciated!❤

Want to learn how to get more out of your Vocal experience? Read this:

Check out My First Top Story on Vocal with this Short Story about Finding Love:

And read this Short Story about a Bounty Hunter named Chloe!

Look below for one of my favorite poems and my Second Top Story on Vocal!

❤ Click HERE To Check Out My Main Profile Page! And As Always, Thank You - For Reading & Supporting My Work!! ❤

performance poetry

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was absolutely beautiful!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is great. Love it.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    “I look up and see you in the stars And I know exactly where you are“ This touches me. ❤️

Lena FolkertWritten by Lena Folkert

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.