Poets logo

Carbon Dated

Officially Old

By Earl W. PearlPublished 9 days ago Updated 7 days ago 1 min read

It finally seems I’ve reached that point

Where everything makes noise

Rebellion reigns in every joint

And that includes “my boyz”

I saw my wife there on the bed

She sure was looking hot

My little blue pill buddy said

“A miracle I’m not”

When I stand up there’s popping sounds

The older that I get

I’ve also gained some added pounds

Just breathing makes me sweat

I told my lovely wife today

Our neighbor says I’m sweet

She didn’t hesitate to say

“You’re way too fat to cheat”

I need a colonoscopy

That’s what the doctors say

Those always will embarrass me

My “gate” don’t swing that way

It’s all that prepping we must do

Yep, things get pretty gross

When nature calls, I’ll trample you

A bathroom must be close

Next week my prostate gets a test

This too I so despise

His giant finger does its best

To separate my eyes

I suffer such indignity

By doing things I’m told

I’m decades past maturity

“Officially, too old”

humor

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Shirley Belk8 days ago

    I'm laughing and crying at the same time....turning 70 in 3 days.

Earl W. PearlWritten by Earl W. Pearl

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.