Poets logo

You and Me Forever

A poem for the challenge Dialogue Poetry

By Rasma RaistersPublished 7 days ago 2 min read

The scene: They were at their favorite restaurant Angelo’s. The place to wine, dine, and dance. With anticipation, she eyed the small dark blue box by his plate.

Seems like we’ve been together forever

I know how strange that we met in a completely different town from where we have lived for so long.

Ah, yes, let’s see you were four and I was determined to show you who was boss.

You did indeed. You poured a bucket of water all over my sand castle, I was so angry and thought you were a bully.

Yeah but we made it up and then we built the tallest castle ever.

That was fun. When my family went to the beach I looked for you but you never returned.

Yeah, you couldn’t have known we were just visiting Virginia Beach that summer. It was surprising to find you one day crying in the hallway of my grade school in Cincinnati, Ohio,

We had moved and I was six and so scared and alone. I didn’t know where to go.

And there I was to help you find your classroom and make myself late for my class.

It was so wonderful that you waited for me after school and held my hand while we walked to the school bus. So nice to sit next to you and I wondered where you would get off.

But then it was so odd. We got off at the same stop and after walking half a block you stopped and pointed saying that was your house.

You looked surprised and then pointed to the house next door and said that was yours. Then we laughed so hard we could hardly stop.

Then one day you left me alone at grade school.

Aw, common, we were great friends by then and I had to go on to high school.

Being small in height at 13 I don’t think I would have had the courage to enter that big high school with those heavy double doors and there you were already a Junior waiting for me on the steps.

That was a fun time. We had friends some of whom stayed with you at high school and some who graduated with me.

And we got to enjoy two proms yours and mine, Mine was the best with the gym ceiling looking like a night sky with twinkling stars.

It sure was and meantime I had saved a place for you at our local university.

Being your girlfriend made university a breeze because I could always tell you I had to study and you didn’t mind.

Yeah, and we could get busy and not catch up but I knew you were right next door.

Well, it sure worked out great. Now you’re a bright and rising young attorney-at-law and I run a boutique at the mall.

So what do you say, Will you marry me?

Yes, yes I will. It fits just perfectly and what a lovely ring.

I just knew you would love a diamond shaped like a heart. Hey, they’re playing our song. We can order champagne later.

Come on and dance me to the end of love.

art

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rasma RaistersWritten by Rasma Raisters

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.