Poets logo

Ode to Johnny

My poem and Johnny Cash songs

By Rasma RaistersPublished 9 days ago 1 min read

Moving along life’s byway,

weary from the load.

I love to sit down by a country road,

near a river flowing,

where I can see long worn tracks,

of many people who've come and gone.

There to reflect upon life,

to imagine going places,

I have only dreamt about.

To sit by a country road,

with a country song in my mind

and imagine the rumble,

of trains rolling by.

While Johnny Cash sings in my mind –

about the Wabash Cannonball.

Where I can sadly smile,

remembering days gone by

and every dancing Saturday night,

followed by Sunday morning coming down.

Where in my dreams,

I can remember those I miss,

while seeing ghost riders in the sky.

Where I can hear guitars strumming,

life so lazy and slow,

country singers,

telling me about the way life is

and I am reminded of the seasons of my heart

and the once too many times,

I found myself on the sea of heartbreak,

and while I was putting all the pieces,

back together again -

hoping I wouldn't run out of crazy glue.

Then finding myself losing control

and falling through that ring of fire.

I know that up above,

in the country meadows behind the sun,

Johnny is still playing his guitar,

I can hear the music,

while the song begins,

I’ll walk the line with Johnny in my mind –

for he will always be mine.

art

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred8 days ago

    Nice tribute to a great artist

Rasma RaistersWritten by Rasma Raisters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.