Poets logo

Can You Ever Trust Me Again?

Inverse Challenge Entry

By Paul StewartPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Created with ChatGPT/Dall-E

Tell me you hate me

don't

hold me

please

push me away

don't

trust me again

I'm over it

I tell you

instead

do it again

I will never

win this fight

my addiction

is stronger than

my resolve

my need for quick fixes

is stronger than

my need to be honest

my desire

needs feeding more than

my heart

Can you ever trust me again?

*

Thanks for reading!

love poemssocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (17)

  • Poppy 24 days ago

    This is so well written and powerful!

  • Christy Munson3 months ago

    Powerful!

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    I like how you’ve captured the flip in meaning when you read the reverse- it’s hard to get right. “ my addiction is stronger than my resolve” is a key line that works really well the other way. Nicely done Paul 👏

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    Wow! Powerful both ways. Well done!

  • Sandra Matos5 months ago

    This is perfect! I tried to do this with mine but it came out stumbly. I feel that some read it as saying the same thing both ways. But yours is clearly stating two different messages. Bravo! Good luck!

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    Fantastic, bravo!! One of the best I've seen making the reverse read a 180 in meaning. Loved it :)

  • Well done sir!

  • Excellent work, and a great take on the challenge and a Top Story no doubt, something that I find almost impossible. (ihe inverse poem)

  • The potential for this to be read cyclically is extremely high without someone to help. Read it down to rock bottom, get help, & let the read up be the rest of the story.

  • King Paul Shakespeare for a reason! This was so brilliant, both forwards and in reverse! A very Paulitical poem! 🍩🥐

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    Awesome job with this. Fantastic!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is great. Works so well in both directions.

  • John Cox5 months ago

    Paul! This is a wonderful reverse poem. I felt the pain of it while reading it in both directions. Really fine work.

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    I read it up and down three times through. This is achingly real.

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Well done!

  • D.K. Shepard5 months ago

    Great inverse poem! This is probably the strongest juxtaposition of a flip I’ve seen! Well done!

  • C. Rommial Butler5 months ago

    On the subject of addiction, I am perhaps too well-versed, through observation and experience. It is that shame we feel when we find ourselves again staring into an empty wallet, or, much worse, an empty heart, that propels us to elevate beyond it. All other avenues are tools for the will that would push itself as such. In such a short space you desribed the struggle, friend. May you elevate! Many blessings and much love! Well-wrought!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.