Poets logo

'Broken' Man

A Poem

By Jennifer LopezPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like
Perfect the way you are.

Did you forget?

Man with green eyes that match mine

The things you've said?

Or the way you are with words,

Is a way that's misread?

Did you forget?

Man with the symmetrical face

And a crooked nose

All the things you have proposed?

Or were they just pretty ideas, I suppose

Did you forget?

Man with tan skin that shimmers in the sun

Kindred spirits, two split from one

I told you never to doubt us

And that you are my wolf

As I'm your lamb

You ask for space, an opportunity to make yourself better

you assume that's where my anger stems from,

yet that's not even what is the matter

I fuss because every time we get close you choose to run

You see, your words and actions don't mix

And every time I point it out you want to split

But the only thing splitting is my heart in two

Don't you see how it's black and blue.

Do you understand

That your actions contradict what you say

I ask you where I stand

Because one minute you're holding my hand

the next you’re pulling away

You say I play victim

That I'm starting problems

But all I've been doing is trying to solve them

But you fail to see the root of it all

You become blind when we start to fall

You say you're evil, damaged and cursed

But all I see is a man of God,

who's light shines brighter than a recited verse

And while loving you ain't easy,

It doesn't feel wrong

My hearts been in your hands

All along

Why does this happen?

Man with green eyes that match mine

We act as if we are together

But you refuse to authenticate it

Yet you want the good times reciprocated

Your emotions are there

But you say you're empty

You claim you don't mean to hurt me

And just need peace

While I'm more than happy to give you your space

It's not fair how you keep picking up the pace

So my dear,

Let me make it clear

I believe we are meant for each other

Never one without the other

And all this space in between

This may be all part of the plan

But for now, this is what it's like being in love with a "broken" man.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Lopez

Romans 12:21

windstorm brought to you by this gemini feed. alpha INFJ. a force to reckon with. curious by nature. wolf hunter. snake whisperer. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.