Poets logo

Blue

a message for my soulmate

By Ebony DavisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I dream of you often.

I dream of your smile, and your hair, and your touch.

But especially your eyes.

Those Caribbean blue eyes that haunt me in my waking life.

Those eyes, that look at me like I'm the center of your universe.

In my dreams, I hear your voice.

It reminds me of a far off thunderstorm on the ocean,

Deep and rolling, as you tell me you love me.

You look at me as if I'm a divine being, as you profess your love for me.

Your eyes, which shine like blue fire,

Pull me in to your depths, consuming me.

Who are you?

Why do you make me long for something I've never felt?

I feel the warmth of your arms around me when I wake,

Only to turn over, and see that you're not there.

I can still feel the press of your lips against mine.

You invade my dreams constantly,

Torturing me with the depths of your love.

With your devotion.

I try to find you in others, hoping that maybe I've already met you,

And just couldn't remember.

But I'm always left disappointed.

Why do you do this to me?

Why can't I know who you are?

Why give me false hope of actually meeting you for real one day?

Is this just my loneliness invading my dreams?

Why haven't you found me?

Why does that shade of blue make me long for someone I've never met?

Why does that shade of blue make me long for a love I've never felt?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ebony Davis

A bisexual and non-binary artist, actor, and photographer residing in Brooklyn.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.