Poets logo

Black is not a Color

Shady Delight

By Rasheda EL-BullockPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
BLACK

Black is not a Color

Black is not a Color,

but a sheer image of my imagination

Black is my vision, my style, my mission

Black is an image that is discarded

Black is my soul unchartered

Black is dismal and cold

Black is my fist held bold

Black is a gift, not a curse

Black is the contents of my purse

Black is not a Color,

but a shade

Black is dressed in a shallow grave

Black is my ancestors standing by the shore, dressed in Moorish garb..........

Waiting, waiting, waiting to be free

Black are my ancestors waiting for me

Black is the misguided and misunderstood

Black is redlining in our own neighborhood

Black is a lack of freedom

and 3/5 of a soul

Black is my story untold

Black is stigma behind the revolution

Black is being omitted from the constitution

Black is looked at as a slave

Black is melanin unscathed

BLACK IS NOT A COLOR!

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Rasheda EL-Bullock

Rasheda EL-Bullock is a Philadelphia born native, former student at Temple University and current Graduate student at Grand Canyon University. Rasheda EL-Bullocks goal and vision as a writer is to inspire the youth to be creative writers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.