Humans logo

The little Black Book

Hidden subtleties of a lost confession........

By Rasheda EL-BullockPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

It’s time to go, and I can’t find it anywhere. I’ve looked in the place of hidden things, just like she said, but, I can’t find it anywhere. My mind has been in shambles ever since that day, that dreadful day.

It wasn’t my fault (almost breaking down as she rummages through a hidden drawer at the bottom of her bedroom closet). There were too many-suddenly there is a loud knock at her front door. Startled Myra slightly closes the drawer in her bedroom closet, before closing the closet door completely shut. “I’m coming, just a minute.”

Myra checked her make-up, and hair before running to the door. “Who is it?”, as she looked through the peek hole to see who it was. “It’s Zack baby, open the door”. Myra quickly unlatched the chain from the door, before turning the deadbolt, and unlocking the bottom lock to her door knob. Before Myra could open the door completely, Zach barges in, and without a proper greeting he walks over to Myra’s white Italian leather sofa and throws his black tweed jacket on the arm of the sofa, walks over to the bar in her living room and pours himself a shot of brandy.

Myra walks over towards the bar looking a bit out of sorts and motions for Zach to pour her a drink. Zach slowly pours the drink for Myra, and then asks “So, what were you doing before I came” referring to her frazzled appearance. “You look out of sorts.” Myra stood in silence as Zach poured her drink, thinking about where she could have hidden the little black book.

“Myra” said Zach as he snapped his fingers in front of her face in order to grab her attention, before handing her the shot of brandy. Myra startled, jumping slightly, before coming back to reality and slowly reaching for the shot of brandy. “You were some where else, huh?” Zach said, as he gently guided Myra over to the Italian white leather sofa. “What’s on your mind”, asked Zach as he patted the sofa next to where he was sitting, so that Myra can sit next to him. Myra was unusually quiet as she sat down on the sofa in the spot Zach had reserved for her.

Myra sat wondering, if she trusted Zach enough to tell him her secrets. Myra had only known Zach for about three months, so she wasn’t sure if she trusted him enough with her family secrets. “Nothing much, just the usual work stuff”, smirking uncomfortably at Zach. “You know how that is”, said Myra. “Oh, yeah I definitely get that”, said Zach, as he began to gently stroke her hair. Myra turned her head slightly towards the coffee table that was placed in front of the sofa in order to reach for a “Better Homes” magazine, and Zach slowly moved his hand back and began to stroke his well groomed beard and then talking about his work day. Zach was fine, about six feet, five inches, gorgeous hazel eyes, muscles everywhere, and a nice, well toned physique. I on the other hand was five nine, medium length hair and an average body type.

I often wondered what he saw in me, but I can tell he liked me, sorta, because he always made time for me, even when he was exhausted and tired from working at his busy real estate firm. Yesssssss, he owns his own real estate firm. I really lucked up this time, and I don’t want to ruin it with all of the lies I had to tell. My family really needed that $20,000 at the time, and I can’t afford to pay it back right now.

There can be no more casualties, because of me, because of my lies. Myra lost in her thoughts again, didn’t hear when Zach asked if She was ready to go. “Huh, I’m sorry I didn’t hear you!” “What was that?” said Myra, before Zach repeated himself, “are you ready to go?”, our reservations are at 8:00, and you know how I feel about being late!” We spoke in unison as we said his favorite line, “to be early is to be on time, and to be on time, is to be late”. We giggled as he got up from the sofa and reached out for my hand, so that he could help me from off of the sofa.

“I’ll be right back” I said to Zach, as I walked to my foyer in order to grab a light jacket from the closet. Although, it was spring, there was still a light chill in the air. As I opened the closet door and attempted to turn on the light, I felt something break underneath my shoe, as I looked down, I noticed that it was a piece of glass from the light bulb that had broken inside of the closet. I looked up at the ceiling in the closet, but it was to dark to see anything, besides my jacket. I reached for the jacket and figured I could change the light bulb when I returned home from dinner.

I grabbed the beige jacket and slammed the closet door shut. Zach yelled out, ”Is everything okay?” I said “everything is fine” as I walked towards the front door. Zach walked outside of my apartment and waited patiently as I locked the door. Zach reached for my hand as we walked towards his 2021 BMW 4 Series.

I had never been with a man who had so much class, but had a bad boy edge to him that couldn’t be denied. Zach pulled up in front of the Giuseppe & Sons Italian restaurant and had one of the valet park his car. As we entered the restaurant, the first thing that I noticed was the large bar area and pictures lining the walls, most likely telling a story of the restaurant owners Italian history.

We were seated on the basement level of the restaurant, in an elegant plush Capri velvet inspired booth. The velvet booth looked as if could seat three other couples comfortably. Although, it was just he and I in the plush velvet booth that night, on the basement level of the beautiful Giuseppe & Sons restaurant, it appeared as though we were being watched. At first, I hadn’t noticed that we were the only ones there, because I was mesmerized by his eyes and the way he could articulate his words in such a way that if you hadn’t paid attention in school, you’d feel as though you were in kindergarten all over again.

Suddenly, there was a loud and robust laugh, from a familiar voice, a voice I hadn’t heard since I was a small child, while living with my parents in that small two bedroom apartment in Brooklyn. Before I could turn to see who it was, Zach jumped up and grabbed the mans hands and pulled him in for a deep embrace, if I weren’t mistaken, I could have sworn I saw him give the man something, while whispering something in his ear. The man then walked off as suddenly as he appeared and I was left to wonder, what the exchange was about. Not long after the man with the robust laugh had left our drinks had arrived, and I once again was trapped in the delicate eyes of Mr. Zach Lucchese.

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Rasheda EL-Bullock

Rasheda EL-Bullock is a Philadelphia born native, former student at Temple University and current Graduate student at Grand Canyon University. Rasheda EL-Bullocks goal and vision as a writer is to inspire the youth to be creative writers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.