Poets logo

Bitter Greens

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Bitter Greens
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

Bitter greens

Slithering unseen

Through my dreams

A strenuous subcutaneous existence

Complaisance in a crime of the mind

Wondering through the hollowed chambers of change

Faining pain to gain the upper hand

An expanded sniveling

Yet persistent

Loaves of loathing self-doubt

Trout flopping about

Festering in vain

For everyone and everything they complain about

Has come and gone once more

While they sit in a drawer

Waiting for what has already passed them

Because the unwanted attention was not their intention

They remain

Frozen in suspension

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintageVillanellesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSonnetSong Lyricssocial commentaryslam poetrySestinaSenryusad poetryRequest FeedbackProseperformance poetryPantoumOdenature poetryMental Healthlove poemslistLimerickinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakHaikuGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFirst DraftFilthyFamilyfact or fictionexcerptsElegyEkphrasticCinquainchildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsBlackoutBalladartAcrostic
3

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Something between "The Art of War" (feigning weakness) & crippling insecurity. In college I was told by a classmate that I tended to do this & that I was "fishing for compliments without a license."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.