Poets logo

Beyond the French Window

A poem based on my experience in the Shakespeare and Company Bookshop

By Chloe GilholyPublished 23 days ago β€’ 1 min read
5

Since I couldn't take any photoes

A poem will have to do, for now.

Eating and drinking is forbidden

But dogs can enjoy the literary ambience.

Many books here seem older than me.

This anglophone book shop reminds me

Of the little bookshop of my childhood

Up the stairs, there is a bed and more chairs

The French window blows me away with the view

The typewriter on the table and the piles of books

Is that an oak tree behind the cherry blossoms?

It's a great view of Paris by Notre Dame Cathedral

Some say this tourist spot is worth a 1000 stories.

I see it as a preserved part of Paris history

The perfect refuge for readers and writers

Since I can't take pictures here,

I guess I shall write about it instead.

To think I could be sitting where once

many great writers like Hemmingway sat

as I took down my notes with

people hovering over to see what I write

HolidayFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran22 days ago

    Such a wonderful poem! So glad you shared your experience with us!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.