Poets logo

A Life Without You

Post Break Up Poem

By Chloe GilholyPublished 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
6
A Life Without You
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Things have never been the same since... πŸ‘Ό

You said it was better off dead! πŸͺ¦

You may have never wanted it, but I did! πŸ‘°β€β™€οΈ

I wanted rings to prove people wrong. β­•

Show them you treated me like a queen. πŸ‘‘

But people could see the toxic I was blind to. ☠️

I still think of the blood-stained fingers 🩸

On that bench, you insisted had privacy. πŸ”’

The nights we spent together in bed. πŸ›οΈ

I never got to meet your family or go to your shrine. πŸ‘ͺ🏼

Maybe you'll read this, and maybe you won't. πŸ“°

The red flags are there, but I still believe in you. πŸŸ₯

Deep inside, the man I loved pre-covid will return. 😷

I know your biggest wish is to leave this world. ⚰️

We may be blocked, but I beg you to seek help. πŸ†˜

I want the person I fell in love with back, but he's gone. πŸ₯

I hope I've done the right thing, I will take care of myself. πŸ‘Š

When our paths meet again, I will be the best version of myself. 🩰

I'll go to all the places you didn't want me to go...πŸ‘ 

And keep in mind whatever I did and do is for the best πŸ’™

For both of us. πŸ’”

Mental Healthsad poetryheartbreakFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Willett2 months ago

    Hang in there my dear sending love πŸ’• ❀️

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Heartwrenching & heartbreaking!!! Toxic & controlling isn't good. Taking care of yourself is good!!! Sending virtual hugs!!!πŸ’•β™₯️β™₯️

  • I'm so sorry this happened to you but I'm so glad you decided to prioritize yourself and your needs. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❀️

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    That is heartbreaking, and sounds completely necessary. Hang in there.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.