Poets logo

Betrayal

Deception is a tornado.

By Jessica HarrisonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Betrayal. Deception.

Eyes open, why can I not see?

Implosion. Explosion.

I am. I am what?

Distracted. Delusional.

Heart racing.

Thoughts blurred, moving fast.

The thing that knew love and devotion.

Attraction. Desire.

It is the deception of it all.

I don’t know if I am wrong.

I don’t know the truth.

Truth. Ha!

Like a tornado ripping through my soul.

It has no warning. No alarm bell.

Only a ravaging of my soul that feels the blow of broken blind trust.

Shame . Guilt . Unworthiness.

Each a film of darkness blinding me to truth.

I am not her.

Nor do my desires long to be.

The girl from long ago.

I am not she.

This thing,

This nameless lie that speaks vivid truth.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Jessica Harrison

Sometimes the road travelled was not preferred. The destination, however, has always been worth the trip.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.