Poets logo

Becoming

A poem

By Joelle EšŸŒ™Published 9 months ago ā€¢ Updated 9 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
7
Becoming
Photo by Vadim Sadovski on Unsplash

I want to be more than what I am

I want to be seen because I canā€™t see

I want to become, because no one has ever

Looked in my eyes and seen the real me

ā€¢

I want to come home, though Iā€™m already here

I want to transcend the way that I feel

I want to live life without so much fear

Maybe then I will finally be real

ā€¢

I have all that I need to climb higher

Yet somehow, none of it seems to suffice

I reach for the heavens to light it on fireā€“

The parts of my soul trapped in stone and ice

ā€¢

One day, maybe that day will come.

When I become all that Iā€™m craving to be

Or maybe that day will just be the day

When I finally shed all that was never me

performance poetryinspirational
7

About the Creator

Joelle EšŸŒ™

There is gold in every piece of your story āœØ

šŸ“ Find me on Medium

ā­ļø Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    "And when Alexander saw the breadth of his domain, he wept, for there were no more worlds to conquer." -Hans Gruber, "Die Hard" (1988) By the time you arrive at this final stanza, my friend, you will want to have another in hand that you might yet aspire to something even greater, just as you have already continued to do here. I love this poem, both for its introspection & its aspiration.

  • Your poem inspires hope! šŸ’™

  • L.C. SchƤfer9 months ago

    So much yearning throughout and I love the end šŸ˜

  • C.S LEWIS9 months ago

    great job Join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you I am sure you will like it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.