Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Black Fog

The high Highs and low Lows

By Jess SPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Black Fog
Photo by Dusan Adamovic on Unsplash

In fleeting moments, I wonder what might have been.

The past forgotten and the future I have seen

Now my back is turned in silent ache,

And has been for a while, leaving me to break.

***

So I ran and faced a barrier, stopping me on my path, realizing that it was me,

that wall I had to conquer to be free.

And I did, at least for a while.

For a while I climbed, and fought, and forgave, and forgot, and tackled things with a smile.

***

In euphoric moments of my high Highs, I envision what life has left for me, endless possibilities of ‘what could be’.

And, I am pleased with what I see.

My mind is clear, my heart is hopeful

I am reaching for it, as if they are stars, so pure and beautiful.

***

But then… in dysphoric moments of my low Lows,

I remember and black fog settles around me.

I remember who I am, instantly finding myself in darkness and unable to see.

What ‘could be’ becomes a heavy feeling of ‘never will be’,

as I withdraw myself from this beautiful thought of what could have been reality.

***

In these euphoric moments of my high Highs, I envision bright summer days and fearless attachments, where trust outweighs being forgotten and where abandonment does not exist.

I imagine warm and truthful moments where love comes in a steady flow.

My smile is radiant , embraces others, my eyes are closed, not wanting to let go.

***

But then... in these dysphoric moments of my low Lows,

I remember and black fog settles around me,

instantly finding myself frozen in the abyss of mistrust, so dark and cold and lonely and far from free.

What ‘could be’ becomes the dreaded feeling of ‘never will be’,

as my mind, once again, isolates me from this beautiful idea of what could have been reality.

Friendshipsurreal poetrysad poetryRequest Feedbacknature poetryMental HealthinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFree Verse

About the Creator

Jess S

One day I will be myself again,

and this darkness might come to an end,

and all doubt will cease,

and all strength will rise.

One day my tainted memories will be left behind,

and I will be able to see the world through a clear lens.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Sanamdeep Singh15 days ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Nathal Nortan15 days ago

    Good work, keep it up

  • Congrats on your top story.

  • Emil indw17 days ago

    Jess :), you're so so a thinker. Good Work!

  • Andrea Corwin 17 days ago

    Love your poem, and congrats on TS🎉 Very authentic capture of many emotions.

  • Awesome writing, keep it up!

  • Margaret Brennan17 days ago

    congratulations on TS. This is excellent and relatable. I felt like this most of my life (strange childhood neighborhood and only now found a fraction of peace. Your poem is fantastic. Love it - especially since it brought back dismal memories lined with my new silver lining. Thank you.

  • Ragnar Resheim17 days ago

    Wow what a good poem. Im not really that into poems but i loved this one, keep up the great work

  • I love the way you wrote this. Capitalizing "Highs" and "Lows" makes them feel larger than life. Very cool! Congrats on the Top Story!

  • shanmuga priya17 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉

  • Anu Mehjabin17 days ago

    Your poem beautifully captures the highs and lows of life's journey. Thank you for sharing. And congrats on your top story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Christy Munson17 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! 🥳 There are a million circumstances I can imagine that might evoke this poem (romantic love, familial situations, work world, home world, school world, etc.). And from any of those perspectives, this one hits. To me, this poem feels like an ongoing whip-pull-push-whip, like what I'd imagine bipolar disorder might feel like. Whether you intended your poem to have that particular edge, I applaud you for voicing so clearly, hauntingly, and powerfully. Unfortunately, it's a world inhabited in silence by far too many, which allows a certain stigma to continue to percolate. In any case, brilliant poem. Richly deserving of the spotlight.

  • Paul Stewart17 days ago

    Ouch...this was way too relatable. So compelling, authentic and bold in your writing! Well done Jess on a remarkable Top Story. Instant new subscriber here!

Jess SWritten by Jess S

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.