Poets logo

Unlove me

...because

By Jess SPublished 11 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
2
Unlove me
Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

Unlove me, because I carry the weight of it too heavily,

and because I am already detached from myself.

*

Unlove me, because I am terrified of losing you,

and because I am petrified of getting lost in you.

*

Unlove me, because I am scared of aching,

and because I am afraid of hurting you.

*

Unlove me, because I am too much to handle,

and because I might ruin your peace.

*

Unlove me, because you will never see the real me,

and because you might witness my struggles.

*

Unlove me, because I don't make sense.

*

Unlove me, because I am wounded,

and because I will scar you.

*

Unlove me, because I fear safety,

and because I cannot protect you.

*

Unlove me, because I deny myself bliss,

and because I cannot provide you with joy.

*

Unlove me, because I yearn for solace I'll never be able to embrace,

and because I will never be able to give you the comfort you deserve.

*

Unlove me, because I will not trust you,

and because I am not trustworthy enough.

*

Unlove me, because I show no mercy,

and because I am unable to forgive myself.

*

Unlove me, because my existence is tainted,

and because I only shine when you ask me to.

*

Unlove me because I know you will abandon me,

and because I will abandon you first.

*

Unlove me, because my heart is filled with sweet bitterness,

and because all I see is how you would never see me.

*

Unlove me, because I cannot verbalize my feelings,

and because I will never comprehend yours.

*

Unlove me because I won't be loving enough,

and because I won’t be loving you.

*

Unlove me, because I already loathe you,

and because I already surrendered the thought of us.

sad poetryRequest FeedbackMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFree Versefact or fictionart
2

About the Creator

Jess S

One day I will be myself again,

and this darkness might come to an end,

and all doubt will cease,

and all strength will rise.

One day my tainted memories will be left behind,

and I will be able to see the world through a clear lens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani11 days ago

    Very nice poem. I really loved this perspective.

  • Emil indw11 days ago

    in my opinion, self-esteem has to work harder to love you. Great poem to realize how hard it is to accept something without love :D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.