Poets logo

Beauty From Pain.

You Can’t Have A Rainbow Without A Little Rain.

By Erin ShieldsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Beauty From Pain - Superchick

This song is quite a sad song but with a hopeful message. When I was struggling, before I was diagnosed with Bipolar and Borderline Personality Disorder, this song helped me a lot. Actually the artist Superchick, a lot of her songs helped me. You may find the song sad and potentially upsetting dependent on your current state of mind. There’s nothing graphic or openingly triggering in the song itself. It is talking about someone going through depression and the hope that things will get better, but you may want to avoid it if you’re currently really struggling with these thoughts.

Seasons change, life goes on.

Moods shift as fleetingly as the rain

on a cloudy Septembers day.

Only to be shot down by lightning,

making way for rainbows and sunny skies

over which the humming bird now flies.

Singing his song as my cat hides,

seeking comfort trying to keep dry.

But why hide from the rain?

-

Don't run when the storm hits.

Look at the flowers -

just as quickly as they bloomed

they were destined to be doomed.

As winter quick approaches

they stay and brave the storm,

but die out for another year.

Seeds planted, soon they'll be reborn.

-

They know that change must happen,

this is not the end only a chance

to change, re-growth from a weed

to something beautiful, to be admired.

-

The circle of life -

re-growth, change.

For in every evil lies beauty within -

storms and lightning

not something to be feared.

Brave the storm for it doesn't mean death,

just change, I know it's scary

set in your ways but it's just a test.

Weather it out just like the flowers.

For one day beauty

will come from pain.

You can't have a rainbow

without a little rain.

- Erin 11th September 2013

If you like my work you can also find me on Twitter & Ko-Fi links below:

https://ko-fi.com/erin

https://twitter.com/PoeticBeatss

All Copyrights belong to me do not use my work or re-post anywhere else without my permission.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.