Poets logo

Battenberg, and other sugary joys.

A Snacktime Sonata

By Hannah MoorePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
20
Battenberg, and other sugary joys.
Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

When captaining a pirate ship

Whether skipper or first mate,

By four o’clock your sugars dip,

And we ask Cook for a plate.

It’s also thus when waging war,

Or at the least a quibble,

‘twix Barbie and her Skeletor,

We’ll treaty for a nibble.

And if we’re slumped before TV,

Our appetites won’t dwindle,

Our engine’s always on you see,

Our hunger will still kindle.

If mother plans the thing quite right,

Then just as things get ugly,

A snack arrives to quell the fight,

She’ll sip her tea quite smugly.

A cupcake, squat in silver foil,

Topped thick with sickly icing,

Or liquorice wound in a coil,

Its central sweet enticing.

Perhaps a yoghurt in a pot,

“French set”, as smooth as custard.

A Wagon Wheel would hit the spot,

Ice lollies have us mustered.

But Battenberg’s the master plan,

Those squares of pink and yellow,

Within a frame of marzipan,

For that we grow quite mellow.

Until, of course, the sugar hits,

And sends us hyperactive,

Excites our minds and dulls our wits,

With colours psychoactive!

Family
20

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    I love Battenberg, it's a huge favourite here. I loved the imagery of play pretend. Pirate ships and Barbie V. skeletor. But what was your mum thinking, trying to calm you all down with e-numbers? Hehehe

  • TheSpinstressabout a month ago

    Haha! You've got several of my childhood favourites in here, especially Wagon Wheels and Battenberg itself. Lovely poem!

  • Soon to be followed by that crushing fall into exhaustion & depression. (Sugar as a drug is actually classified as a depressant rather than a stimulant. That sugar rush tends to be brief.)

  • Enjoyed it a lot, and your flow is awesome. Nice arrangement of perfect words..

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Lol..all the people that had to google Battenberg, when I clicked as soon as I saw this because of the reference. One of my all-time favourite cakes. Wagon Wheels are great too...those smaller now (not starting on the shrinkflation honest). This is wonderful, Hannah. A real sweet treat!

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    What is a Battenberg and what is a wagon wheel. Nevertheless, they all sound fascinating and tasty. Certainly enough to soothe the wee ones.

  • I Googled Battenburg and realised that I know that cake but I didn't know what it's called, lol. Your poem was so yummy and nostalgic!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    This feels just like a Wonka dream! I love the rhyme scheme, the momentum, the hyperactivity in each verse, but also the structure that connotes the presence of mom. Such a joyful read!

  • Kodah2 months ago

    Anything sponge cake has my attention! Love your poem! 💓

  • Michèle Nardelli2 months ago

    Delightful poem although I have never heard of battenberg - you have got me imagining it😀

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Battenberg. Yum. It almost makes me want to catch a flight home! Great one Hannah! Yum!!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This poem is one long smile. Simply delicious! I'd love to try the Battenberg one day but given that I live in the US not sure how I will ever do that without making it myself!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    This was a delightful read, Hannah! Loved the playing pirate intro, it really set the stage and the toy particulars! Had to look up a few of the treats, including Battenberg🫣

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    I had to Google battenburg cake. I've never seen one before, which surprises me. Looks good. Great job the poem as well. I laughed at the part about Mom smugly sipping tea. Reminds me of my mom.

  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Wonderful imagery! I am hungry now! Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.