Poets logo

Vanilla Spice

For Poppy's Prompts #3

By Hannah MoorePublished 2 months ago 2 min read
24
Vanilla Spice
Photo by Chelsea Audibert on Unsplash

My preference? Vanilla please,

Don’t titillate, don’t try to tease,

Don’t peer beneath my made-up skin,

I’m not prepared to let you in.

I’m not prepared to let you see,

My yearning, burning, spicy me,

The me who does not dance in rain,

As day on day, the rain grows plain.

Instead, my feet await the hail,

Who’s magic lets my soul set sail,

And seek to find in waters new,

Fresh colours of the warmest hue,

Or let the wind whip through my hair

To smell the mysteries of the air,

And wake my heart to all that is,

Seizing that disquieting fizz,

To feed my thirst to feel it all,

Like Eve, I would have chased the fall,

I would have sunk my teeth right in,

And never could I call it sin.

I see in ultraviolet light,

And thrill to noises of the night.

I long to feel myself set free,

To step aboard where I can be,

Take my helm, my map, my compass,

Set my course for mirth and rumpus,

And with an open mind explore

The spiderweb beyond my door.

Alas I am too often shy,

And seek to hide, and not to fly.

The instincts of an introvert,

Leave inner wants to gather dirt,

Desires to mildew and to mould,

And heated dreaming to grow cold.

But mould is wondrous when you look,

And life abounds in every book.

The spiderweb inside my home

Is magic with no need to roam.

Though sometimes from these well-worn rails

I hear the billow of those sails,

I keep on making the safe choice,

And go on choosing to rejoice

In vanilla’s gentle flavour,

Which I take the time to savour,

The spicy breeze there on my tongue,

The taste of songs I’ve not yet sung,

For though she seems unexotic,

Taste her well and she’s erotic.

*

This was written for Poppy's Prompts #3, below:

For Fun
24

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶about a month ago

    So much delightful rhythm and rhyme… ‘ And life abounds in every book. The spiderweb inside my home Is magic with no need to roam.’ Well deserved Runner Up placing in Poppy’s March Prompts! 🤩

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Truly excellent piece with a good tone and fine images.. echoes of Dickinson (maybe in some of your chosen images is what reminds me of this) whose poems I love! ☺️👏

  • Rebecca Pattonabout a month ago

    I like the words, 'choose to rejoice,' because it is our choice whether we should be happy with the 'simple' flavor of vanilla! Good, relatable poem.

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    This is such a masterpiece Hannah! You are so very very talented. Every line was perfect and that rhythm was incomparable. 'Like Eve, I would have chased the fall,' has to be my favourite line but there were so many others I adored too.

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Vanilla is the furthest thing from dull; I don't know how they became synonymous! It's decadent and sweet and exotic. Nought wrong with vanilla at all! Imagine if everyone in the world were swashbuckling adventurers; how dull would that be 😁

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    My fav: "The taste of songs I’ve not yet sung" This typifies what I know of you and I hope for you much more songs to sing!

  • "The instincts of an introvert, Leave inner wants to gather dirt," These were my favourite lines as I found it to be extremely relatable! Loved your take on Poppy's Prompts!

  • Like a little slice of vanilla spice Seuss. Delightfully fun, Hannah.

  • Kenny Penn2 months ago

    Beautiful, Hannah! Your words about the introvert really struck home for me, but the whole poem is masterfully done

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Bravo! A whimsical wonder in rhyme! Loved “Seizing that disquieting fizz”

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    This is excellent. Didn't know what to expect other than your honesty and self coming through...but it was a pleasant ride and I couldn't agree with Caroline more that this has Top Story written all over it.

  • Caroline Jane2 months ago

    Oh wow!! This is ace. I love the energy that surges through every single line. Rousing and earnest. Top story without a doubt!!! 🙌

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Brilliant especially "Set my course for mirth and rumpus".

  • What a closing line 😁🥰

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Secret desires of an introvert? So many good lines that speak of a hidden desire.

  • ema2 months ago

    I love this! 😍

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is simply wonderful. I love the scent of vanilla. I am quite boring.

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Ooooo!!!!! This was so clever and really well done! I identified with so many parts of it. Wonderful work on the prompt :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.