Poets logo

Back to school

Letting my babies grow

By Hannah MoorePublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
12

I know a lot of parents jump for joy when their kids return to school, but for me, its a time of minor grief and loss. So after the successful use of poem writing yesterday to manage feelings, just a little one for today too.

Nut brown knees and earthed soles,

Love warmed bodies and tousled hair.

If tousle was a person.

If snuggle was a person.

If love, the love that fills my chest and gut, that powers my arms to lift the load, were a person…

I would let that person out into the world,

And in my nest spread those arms

And grope for scraps of me,

Finding some, or not, wait

For that person to return,

Altered, to this fixed mark.

love poems
12

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Mrs. Hannah - I follow everything you write - Especially your heartfelt 'Special' comments to others; including those that you've left for me. I did take notice of what you said to David in Canada. It is a very different world for our 'Children' and Mom's. Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Oooooof yes! Totally relate. 😩❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I relate hard! I remember as a child hearing, "ugh! I can't wait for September!" Not pleasant.

  • Berry Driven9 months ago

    So relatable. I think this every day as I homeschool my child. I know one day he's going to fly free.

  • This was so beautiful Hannah! I loved it so much!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    This was nice. It felt uncertain, yet liberating. Nicely done.

  • Forest Green9 months ago

    I remember those days

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Beautifully stated, again.

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Another sweet, nostalgic poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.