Poets logo

Dinah the Grama-Saur

Technology Archaeology

By DeEtta MillerPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024

Dinah the Grama-Saur

Technology Archaeology

My name is Dinah,

I’m a Grama-Saur.

You ask, “What’s that?”

So, I’ll tell you more.

Like a dinosaur,

I’m pretty darn old.

I don’t know much,

Or so I am told.

I have a family.

The love of my life.

Children, grandchildren.

I’m a mother and wife.

Here’s my dilemma.

See what you think.

Have you heard of extinction?

Well, my brain’s on the brink.

When I was born,

There were few electronics.

Now everything today,

Is Super Sonic!

Slowly, as I aged,

Life became “high tech.”

When I sit at my computer,

I turn into a wreck!

Along comes a grandchild,

To show me the way.

I’m so grateful they try,

When they should be at play.

Sitting right at my side,

With a mouse and a screen,

Looking blank into space,

Not quite sure what I’ve seen…

“Press this key and that.

Don’t hit the delete!”

I’ve had quite enough,

As I get to my feet.

Off to the kitchen,

For coffee and a snack.

I feel kinda foolish.

Should I even go back?

I know my little helper,

Is doing their best.

But I don’t understand!

Gosh, I hope there’s no test.

I sit back in my chair,

Patient, I must be.

For the best part of this,

Is they’re sitting by me.

So, grandchild and I,

Get back to the chore,

Of teaching technology,

To this old Grama-Saur.

Wish me luck…

humor

About the Creator

DeEtta Miller

Found my "Voice" as a college student of forty-seven. Once a memoir was written, fiction, poetry and non-fiction became my passions.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (17)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin2 months ago

    Fantastic writing.

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Now why did I not think of this, since i too am a grammasaur. Oh the poor brain learning to creep, crawl and walk into tech, enjoyed the story here. Congrats

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Congrats on your top poetry.

  • shanmuga priya2 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    This is funny. I feel for that poor Dinosaur!

  • Caroline Jane2 months ago

    Good luck, but I dont think you will need it! I think you are nailing this. Fun poem. Put a grin on my face!

  • Margaret Brennan2 months ago

    congratulations on TS. This was GREAT and I definitely can relate.

  • angela hepworth2 months ago

    Light hearted and creatively compelling contribution!

  • Cindy Calder2 months ago

    This poem was so relatable and ingenious. Congratulations on the Top Story recognition - well deserved!

  • Thank you! I even struggle to send "thank you" to the kind remarks! Awwww, old age... lol

  • Thank you! I struggle to even send my gratitude for your kind comment... lol

  • Hahahahahaha this was a fun one. Loved your poem!

  • Joe Patterson2 months ago

    Good luck.

  • Luksi Bayou2 months ago

    "For the best part of this, Is they’re sitting by me." 💜

  • Luksi Bayou2 months ago

    Delightful!

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    Good one. You will catch on to the many ways of computer literacy for you have a great teacher beside you the whole way.

DMWritten by DeEtta Miller

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.