Poets logo

Grow With the Dough

Metaphor for Life

By DeEtta MillerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
3

Grow With the Dough

A Metaphor for Life

By: DeEtta Miller

I’ve never met a metaphor

I did not like

So here is another

From a 50’s tyke

I’m very old

So, you may not know

Our favorite snack

Was raw cookie dough

Not surprising

Cookie dough can be grand

But if you got caught

A slap on the hand

To eat mother’s cookies

In their raw, chewy state

Was considered a crime

But we just couldn’t wait!

So, we learned to be sneaky

While she talked on the phone

Loading pockets with dough

Then hiding all alone

Pulling soft gooey sweetness

From chocolate-stained clothing

Denying my siblings

With faces of loathing

But I did it, I did it!

I got more than my share

Sitting in darkness

I just didn’t care…

Six decades have passed

Since I filled my young tummy

Three siblings are gone

Including our Mommy

Cooked or raw

Childhood dough was a test

Who could sneak the most

Who was the best

Why must everything

A contest be

To share is better

How can we not see?

Now when I bake

The dough lacks it thrill

If only I could share

Well, one day I will…

Family
3

About the Creator

DeEtta Miller

Found my "Voice" as a college student of forty-seven. Once a memoir was written, fiction, poetry and non-fiction became my passions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • DeEtta Miller (Author)29 days ago

    Thank you soooo much! How kind...

  • DeEtta Miller (Author)about a month ago

    Thank you, Mark! You make me laugh... yea, that raw dough is awesome! Love your input!

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    Great work and I really like raw cookie dough and now I get cookie dough ice cream and love that it really tastes the same as cookie dough.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.