Poets logo

Autumn Joy

Happy Memories

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
27
Autumn Joy
Photo by Benjamin Voros on Unsplash

I love the golden hues of autumn

The yellows, reds, and browns

That take my breath away

With colours that astound

***

The leaves that float like snowflakes

Gently to the ground

Golden remnants of summertime

Lost to winter inbound

***

So fondly I remember

Walking along to school

My mother’s hand in my hand

Through grasses dewdrop bejewelled

***

Helicopter seeds of Sycamore

Buzzing through my hair

As my mum and I laughed

And skipped without a care

***

Throwing sticks at chestnut trees

To watch the conkers fall

Storing them in readiness

For the games that entertained us all

***

And we looked in awe at conifers

Alone amongst them all

That remain green through all seasons

Spring through to fall

***

The changing of the seasons

Trigger happy memories

Bringing me to times gone by

With my wonderful family

***

Walking me to school ‘neath Sycamore

On a carpet of fallen leaves

Yellows, reds, and brown

Falling like snowflakes all around

***

My brother and I playing conkers

As my sisters spun about

Dancing in the downpour

Dressed like little Girl Scouts

***

The cooling bite of autumn winds

My mum ruffling my hair

As we all skipped and laughed to school

On those days without a care

surreal poetry
27

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.