Poets logo

The Ties That Bind

Broke Free!

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
17
The Ties That Bind
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

I awoke this morning

And cleared my cloudy mind

To wipe the sleep from my tired eyes

And break the ties that bind

***

I long held tight to beliefs

That held me back I fear

And so I freed myself from constraints

That I have for so long adhered

***

Growing up I listened to

Those who told me, no

You can’t do that, you’re not good enough

That’s not the life you’ve been bestowed

***

I’m sad to say I took it in

And believed it to my core

I lived my life upon the ground

And let those around me soar

***

If you believe you’re naught

Then naught you will become

I let everyone tell me who I am

Rather than listen to the heart within

***

But last night I was visited

By an angel whilst I slumbered

Who showed me how my life could be

If I wasn’t so encumbered

***

And now I see the folly

Of what I believed before

Friends, don’t let others tell you who you are

That’s for you alone to explore

inspirational
17

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.