Poets logo

Attention Deficit

Or attention kaleidoscope

By Meagan DionPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
67
Attention Deficit
Photo by Külli Kittus on Unsplash

Deficit you say?

I am the queen of losing track of my...

Squirrel... I mean,

Truthfully, as an ADHD woman I really have no greater skill than

Riffling through the rolodex of my mind to share with you

Any number of truly random and impressive facts,

Causing your jaw to drop and your mind to be boggled.

There is, for example, an herb that can pull out a tick head

If you apply it as a poultice.

Or, did you know that caterpillars completely breakdown into goo before

Neatly becoming a beautiful butterfly?

humor
67

About the Creator

Meagan Dion

My life is a little crazy. Four kids, homeschool, write, create and coffee. Coffee is a verb. Do you coffee? I aspire to blow glass and finish / publish my novel. I would like to have an impact. Also, coffee.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    🖤

  • Clever! Congratulations on a well-deserved win.

  • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

    Absolutely love this- because SAME. Sometimes I also turn into goo before I can fly again.

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    My sister is ADHD; she flits like a butterfly from one project to another. Love this piece, especially the coffee. I, personally, do coffee!

  • Kelsey Clarey10 months ago

    This is a great piece! Definitely put me in mind of many of the ADHD having people in my life.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    OMG, this is such a great piece! You describe ADHD so well!

  • Talia Devora10 months ago

    You nailed this one! Well done!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Outstanding!!! Love this!!! Congratulations on T S too!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Very funny. Congrats on the TS

  • Great job and vision shone ❤️😉❗

  • Umm..., what were we talking about? Extremely well done & entertaining.

  • very good

  • Donnalisa Madrigal10 months ago

    OMG. Your “About the Creator” section! You had me at “Coffee is a verb.”😭 It was the cherry on top of the icing after reading your entry. ❤️

  • Sara Urias10 months ago

    As a fellow ADHD'er, I found this funny and relatable!! Unfortunately, fortunately?! I like to think of it as an "attention kaleidoscope"!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    This captured distraction well!

  • Hahaha that was an excellent take on the challenge… the distraction baked right in. Excellent stuff.

  • Andrew C McDonald10 months ago

    I adore the picture and the segue from “losing track of my … Squirrel!’ made me laugh. Great Distraction.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I'm not ADHD but find this relatable in some ways. Love the conversational style of this and all those interesting and informative sidesteps! Congrats on Top Story!

  • When you get some coffee send me some lol

  • Jigah Success10 months ago

    Very funny

  • Jacob Johnson 10 months ago

    Beautiful squirrel

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    This is both serious and funny. Quite the coup in a short acrostic. Well done.

  • Lena Folkert10 months ago

    Love this! It's like looking into a mind mirror!

  • J. R. Lowe10 months ago

    Hahaha well thanks for sharing the fun facts and thoughts from your wonderful mind 🧠

  • I'm ADD and this was so relatable! I just cannot focus for the life me, lol! Loved your poem! Congratulations on your Top Story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.